Sammons Links Up Win Number Two On Premio Foods Night At New Egypt Speedway

New Egypt, NJ – Bordentown, NJ’s Davey Sammons picked up his second career and second Vahlco Wheels Modified feature event win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night on Upper Freehold/Hamilton Township night presented by Premio Foods. Also earning victories on Saturday night were Ricky DiEva in the Mid Atlantic 305 Sprint Cars, Matt Miller in the Crate Modifieds and Bill Liedtka in the Street Stocks.

Milford, NJ’s JR Fulper led the Vahlco Wheels Modified feature event to the green flag with Davey Sammons in tow. After some yellow flag fever to start the Modified feature, Fulper would set a torrid pace and appeared to be on his way to his first career Modified win until lap 16 when Fulper entering turn three would tangle with a lapped car ending his night. Fulper’s mishap would then hand the lead to Davey Sammons who would go on to win his second career and second Modified win of 2019 at NES. Following a lap two tangle that sent him pit side with a flat tire Billy Pauch Jr. rallied to finish second, further extending his point lead. Brandon Grosso, Rich Rutski and Ryan Krachun would round out the top five. Sammons would dedicate his win to long time supporter John Chemedlin who recently passed away.

“This one is for John, I thought about that with two laps to go, I had a tear running down my eye”, said Sammons post race. “It’s a shame, JR was running a good race, I thought I would be able to get to the lead on the top early but I couldn’t get off of two so I just fell in line and rode behind him for a little bit. I got a little tight early and I thought he would come back to me but he wasn’t. I thought I would get a shot at him in lapped traffic and it’s unfortunate what happened to him but we had a good car.”

It was a pair of young guns dueling in Crate Modified action between Matt Miller and Anthony Tramontana Jr. Miller would control the distance over Tramontana until Tramontana had a driveline issue under caution. Miller would then hold off a hard charging Joe Toth to pick up his first career Crate Modified victory. Toth would take over the point lead with his runner-up finish. Miller’s best career finish prior to this Saturday was a 12th. Steve Davis, Ryan Simmons and Johnny Bangs completed the top five.

Mid Atlantic 305 Sprint Car Rookie Ricky DiEva led wire-to-wire in the 20 lap main event picking up his first career Sprint Car win. Mark Bitner was a man on a mission trying to catch DiEva in the late stages of the event but it would be to no avail. Bitner, Jeff Geiges, Tim Tanner Jr. and Eddie Wagner rounded out the top five.

Bill Liedtka just keeps adding to his all time leading Street Stock win total, picking up the win on Saturday night over a fast Brian Spencer, Jimmy Avery, Joe Reid and Billy Wroble.

Six AMA Flat Track Motorcycles took part in three exhibitions throughout the evening in anticipation of next Sunday’s AMA Garden State Flat Track Classic.

New Egypt Speedway is back in action this Tuesday night with the Jersey Rush VIII featuring the 410 Sprint Cars, Modifieds and Crate’s. Pit gates will swing open at 3:30pm, Grandstands at 5pm, with Hot Laps at 7pm and Sprint Car time trials hitting the Speedway at 7:15pm. Adult admission is $30, Children 6-11 are $10, with Kids 6 & Under are FREE. Pit admission is $35.

New Egypt Speedway will showcase two days of racing action next Saturday and Sunday as well with the Mr. Crate Classic & Scout Night presented by Eastern Auto Parts Warehouse. The Crate Modifieds will be the main attraction in a 30-lap feature event. The Hammer Sportsman, Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars and the Mike’s Performance Center 4-Cylinders will round out the racing card next Saturday. Pit gates will open at 4pm, Grandstands at 5pm with hot laps hitting the speedway at 6pm and racing at 7pm.

Then the focus will turn to Sunday where for the first time ever AMA Flat Track Motorcycles will grace the New Egypt Speedway for the Garden State Flat Track Classic. Pit gates will open at 9am, Practice will begin and the Spectator gates will open at 11am with racing beginning at 1pm. The Flat Track races will be held in conjunction with the Central Jersey Motorcycle Swap Meet, which will begin at 8am.

New Egypt Speedway, which is New Jersey’s premier dirt racing facility, is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.
For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.

New Egypt Speedway Results

Premio Sausage Night


Vahlco Wheels MODIFIEDS

Feature (30 laps):  1. Davey Sammons 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Brandon Grosso 4. Rich Rutski 5. Ryan Krachun 6. Brian Papiez 7. Mike Butler 8. David Van Horn 9. Danny Bouc 10. Jimmy Blewett 11. Pat Wall 12. PJ Oliver 13. TJ Lilly 14. Blaine Bracelin 15. Cale Ross 16. Bob Rambone 17. Billy Osmun 18. JR Fulper 19. Steve Young 20. Kevin Vaclavicek 21. Darrin Schuler 22. Bob Lillick 

DNS: Bill Liedtka

Heat Winners:  TJ Lilly, JR Fulper

Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series 305 SPRINT CARS

Feature (20 laps):  1. Ricky DiEva 2. Mark Bitner 3. Jeff Geiges 4. Tim Tanner Jr. 5. Eddie Wagner 6. Joe Kay 7. Rick Stief 8. Tyler Brehm 9. Tom Carberry 10. Sam Lieberman 11. Jason Dunn 12. Logan Diehl 13. Dom Melair 14. Scott Frack 15. Larry McVay 16. Randy Wilbert 17. Chuckles Stone 18. Bryant Davis 19. Marie McVay 20. Johnny Yanek 21. Steve Vorhees 22. Keith Anderson 

Heat Winners:  Rick Stief, Tim Tanner Jr. 


Feature (20 laps): 1. Matt Miller 2. Joe Toth 3. Steve Davis 4. Ryan Simmons 5. Johnny Bangs 6. Eric Palmer 7. Howie Finch 8. Ryan Heim 9. Bobby Holzwarth 10. Robbie Dunn 11. Dan Fleming 12. Aaron Weaver 13. DJ Hunt 14. Andy Walko 15. Steve Hicks 16. Jon Meyer 17. Darren Cox 18. Jason Kosch 19. Nick Van Wickle 20. Rob Mancini 21. Zachary Merola 22. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 23. Tom Princiotta 24. Ryan Krushinski 25. Kevin Borden                                                                                                                                                                         

Heat Winners: Ryan Simmons, Dan Fleming, Anthony Tramontana Jr. 


Feature (15 laps):  1. Bill Liedtka 2. Brian Spencer 3. Jim Avery 4. Joe Reid 5. Billy Wroble 6. Vern McLaughlin 7. Marty Derr 8. Chris Felber 9. Dennis Seeley 10. John Bromme 11. Sean Wall 12. Doug DeBray

Tuesday, July 16 JERSEY RUSH VIII
FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER! AMA Flat Track Motorcycle...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Tuesday, 03 August 2021