New Egypt, NJ (April 17, 2016) – On Star Wars Night presented by New Jersey Line-X, Dominick Buffalino held off Billy Pauch, Jr. to win the season opening Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway. Pat Wall captured the victory in the Sportsman feature while Neal Williams took top honors in the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints main event. The Lyons Constructions/Metal Fab Rookie race was won by Cale Ross.

Starting on the pole in the 30-lap Modified feature, Dominick Buffalino bolted to the front of the pack with Ryan Godown, Billy Pauch, Sr., Brian Roemer and Neal Williams in pursuit. Following a caution period and restart on lap 4, Godown gained the lead from Buffalino with five tours completed. Billy Pauch, Jr., who started the contest in twelfth, was dicing his way towards the front and entered the top three with six circuits recorded. By lap 11, Pauch, Jr had slipped by Buffalino for the runner-up position and was closing in on Godown. The outcome of the race would hinge on two events that occurred around the midway point of the feature. Under another yellow flag on lap 14, Godown headed pitside with a left rear flat and Pauch, Jr. inherited the lead. Two tours later, Buffalino would return to the front and Neal Williams took over second place as Pauch, Jr. was penalized two positions for jumping a restart. When action got back underway, Buffalino maintained his edge with Pauch, Jr. getting around Williams for second. As the race entered the final ten laps, Buffalino could not shake Pauch, Jr. In fact, the younger Pauch narrowed the gap in the final laps and Buffalino’s margin of victory was a mere car length. Behind the top two of Buffalino and Pauch, Jr., Williams completed the race in third. After going to the pits and getting a new tire, Godown roared back through the field and finished fourth. Danny Bouc’s strong run resulted in a fifth place finish. The victors in the Modified heat races were Clay Butler, Godown and Pauch, Jr.

Polesitter Eric Kormann appeared to be heading to victory in the 20-lap Sportsman feature. After leading the first eighteen tours, Kormann’s car began to slow due to a flat tire. Second place running Pat Wall took advantage and led the final two laps to take the checkered flag. Twelfth place starting Bob Lineman, Jr. took the runner-up spot. Kormann held on for third place. Fourth went to Brandon Grosso and fifth was taken by Billy Osmun. The qualifying races were taken by Grosso, Kormann and Wall. Ebby Ridge won the consolation contest.

In the very entertaining 20-lap Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints main event, Neal Williams held off Lou Cicconi to claim the victory. Johnny Cornell paced the field for the opening four circuits before Williams won a terrific side-by-side battle for the lead. Although he would lead the rest of the way, Williams had to fend off challenges from Bobby Butler and Cicconi in the second half of the race. Cicconi, who exchanged the runner-up spot with Butler a few times, made a valiant last lap challenge to finish in second. With Butler taking third, Billy Pauch, Jr. came home in fourth. Wayne Weaver completed the contest in fifth. Butler and Williams were winners in the heat races for the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints.

Cale Ross took the lead from Johnny Bangs on the second circuit and cruised to a decisive victory in the eight lap Lyons Constructions/Metal Fab Rookie feature. Bangs finished in second with Alonzo Morales completing the race in third. Kyle Kania and Doug Twaits rounded out the top five.

On Saturday, April 23, Ugly Sweater Night at New Egypt Speedway will take place with the 358 Modifieds, Crates, TSRS Sprints, and Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookies on the agenda. During intermission, the winner of the Ugly Sweater contest will be awarded a $25 Gift Card. The pit gates open at 2:00 p.m. and spectators can enter the grandstand seating area at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps crank up at 5:00 p.m. and the first race gets underway at 6:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and no charge for children 11 and under. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license, $35 with a TSRS license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from roast beef sandwiches to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online: www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



Heat 1 – 1. Clay Butler 2. Brian Roemer 3. Danny Bouc 4. PJ Oliver 5. Andrew Bohn 6. Tad Cox

Heat 2 – 1. Ryan Godown 2. Neal Williams 3. Billy Pauch, Sr. 4. Dominick Buffalino 5. Ryan Krachun 6. Chad Barney

Heat 3 – 1. Billy Pauch, Jr. 2. Willie Osmun 3. John McClelland 4. Tommy Farrell 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Mike Butler

1. DOMINICK BUFFALINO 2. Billy Pauch, Jr. 3. Neal Williams 4. Ryan Godown 5. Danny Bouc 6. John McClelland 7. Willie Osmun 8. Ryan Krachun 9. Lou Cicconi 10. Bryan Kuhl 11. Chris Grbac 12. Tad Cox 13. John Packenham 14. Clay Butler 15. Chad Barney 16. Patrick Gold 17. Tommy Farrell 18. Doug Ostwald 19. Andrew Bohn 20. Billy Pauch, Sr. 21. Brian Roemer 22. DJ Ruppert 23. PJ Oliver 24. Mike Butler


Heat 1 – 1. Brandon Grosso 2. Bob Lineman, Jr. 3. Alan Bleacher 4. Marty Saxton 5. Will Trstensky 6. Mike Everett

Heat 2 – 1. Eric Kormann 2. JR Fulper 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Billy Osmun 5. Steve Desmelyk 6. Jimmy Amato

Heat 3 – 1. Pat Wall 2. J.T. Trstensky 3. Marty Resnick 4. Bill Liedtka 5. Matt Stangle 6. John Criscioni

Consolation – 1. Ebby Ridge 2. TJ Lilly 3. Dakota Kessler 4. Johnny Bangs 5. Shawn Ratchford 6. Jesse Dill


1. PAT WALL 2. Bob Lineman, Jr. 3. Eric Kormann 4. Brandon Grosso 5. Billy Osmun 6. J.T. Trstensky 7. JR Fulper 8. TJ Lilly 9. Ebby Ridge 10. Cale Ross 11. Matt Stangle 12. Jesse Dill 13. Jimmy Amato 14. Mike Everett 15. Bill Liedtka 16. Steve Desmelyk 17. John Criscioni 18. Alan Bleacher 19. Dakota Kessler 20. Marty Saxton 21. Shawn Ratchford 22. Ryan Simmons 23. Will Trstensky 24. Marty Resnick 25. Johnny Bangs

DNQ: Kyle Kania, Alonzo Morales, Chuck Potts, Doug Twaits, Rob Anderton, Joe Dill, Derek Krum, Norm Saxton, Guy Haupt, Tom Tanner, Andy Visinski, Corey Stockert

Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints

Heat 1 – 1. Bobby Butler 2. Johnny Cornell 3. Billy Pauch, Jr. 4. Lou Cicconi 5. Wayne Weaver

Heat 2 – 1. Neal Williams 2. Pat Hires 3. Rich Mellor 4. Brian Spencer 5. Brody Adamsky 6. Heidi Heddin 7. Lee Nardelli


1. NEAL WILLIAMS 2. Lou Cicconi 3. Bobby Butler 4. Billy Pauch, Jr. 5. Wayne Weaver 6. Johnny Cornell 7. Brody Adamsky 8. Brian Spencer 9. Rich Mellor 10. Pat Hires

DNS: Heidi Heddin, Lee Nardelli


1. CALE ROSS 2. Johnny Bangs 3. Alonzo Morales 4. Kyle Kania 5. Doug Twaits 6. Guy Haupt

DNS: Corey Stockert

Share this post