New Egypt, NJ (May 25, 2016) – Daryn Pittman has become the master of the D-shaped dirt oval at New Egypt Speedway. On Tuesday night, Pittman won the 30-lap World of Outlaws Craftsman Tools Sprint Car A-Main for the fourth consecutive year.

When the Jersey Outlaw Classic A-Main event got underway, polesitter Greg Hodnett was in front with Mark Smith and Pittman next line. By the eighth circuit, Hodnett began to lap competitors as Smith and Pittman remained in order. On lap 12 and in the midst of traffic, Pittman started to inch closer to the second place running Smith. At the halfway point, the top three of Hodnett, Smith, and Pittman were racing in close formation with Pittman being the fastest. One tour later, Pittman slipped by Smith for the runner-up spot and was on the tail of Hodnett. On lap 17, Pittman came out of the second turn with the lead. Quickly, Pittman began to distance himself from Hodnett and Smith. With ten circuits remaining, Pittman appeared to have the race in hand as he built a comfortable lead over Hodnett with Smith feeling pressure from Brad Sweet for third. Five laps later, Hodnett began to close the gap between him and Pittman. As Hodnett was continuing to make-up ground on Pittman, the only caution of the race took place on lap 26 as a flat left rear tire developed on Lucas Wolfe’s ride. On the ensuing restart, Pittman remained in front with Hodnett and Smith in tow. During the final circuits, Pittman pulled away from the field to win his fourth World of Outlaws Craftsman Tools Sprint Car A-Main of 2016. Hodnett followed Pittman across the finish line with Smith coming home in third. Fourth place went to Sweet. After starting the race in tenth, Davey Sammons drove a strong race to finish in fifth.

Greg Hodnett was the fastest qualifier in time trials. The heat races were captured by Hodnett, Mark Smith, Joey Saldana and Daryn Pittman. The dash, featuring the top two finishers in each of the four qualifying races, was won by Hodnett. Kyle Reinhardt took the checkered flag in the B-Main contest.

On Saturday, May 28, Military Appreciation Night takes place at New Egypt Speedway and all active and retired military with proper identification will be admitted to the grandstand at no charge. On the track, the 358 Modifieds, Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints, TSRS Sprint Cars and Sportsman will be in action on this special night. Pit gates unlock at 3:00 p.m. with the grandstand turnstiles opening at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps get underway at 5:00 p.m. and the first race starts at 6:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, and no charge for children 11 and under. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license, $35 with a TSRS license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from roast beef sandwiches to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


World of Outlaws Craftsman Tools Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1. Greg Hodnett 2. Lucas Wolfe 3. Brett Marks 4. Tim Shaffer 5. Robbie Stillwagon

Heat 2 – 1. Mark Smith 2. Brad Sweet 3. Davey Sammons 4. Ryan Smith 5. Jason Johnson

Heat 3 – 1. Joey Saldana 2. Paul McMahan 3. Danny Dietrich 4. Kevin Nagy 5. Logan Wagner

Heat 4 – 1. Daryn Pittman 2. Shane Stewart 3. David Gravel 4. Donny Schatz 5. Davie Franek

Dash – 1. Greg Hodnett 2. Mark Smith 3. Daryn Pittman 4. Brad Sweet 5. Joey Saldana 6. Shane Stewart 7. Lucas Wolfe 8. Paul McMahan

B-Main – 1. Kyle Reinhardt 2. Joe Trenca 3. Jason Sides 4. Logan Schuchart


1. DARYN PITTMAN 2. Greg Hodnett 3. Mark Smith 4. Brad Sweet 5. Davey Sammons 6. David Gravel 7. Shane Stewart 8. Joey Saldana 9. Brent Marks 10. Donny Schatz 11. Tim Shaffer 12. Paul McMahan 13. Ryan Smith 14. Danny Dietrich 15. Jason Johnson 16. Davie Franek 17. Logan Schuchart 18. Jason Sides 19. Robbie Stillwagon 20. Lucas Wolfe 21. Kyle Reinhardt 22. Logan Wagner 23. Joe Trenca 24. Kevin Nagy

DNQ: Tyler Ross, Wayne Dadetto, Jacob Allen, Greg Wilson, Anthony Fiore, Joe Kata, Clyde Knipp, JJ Grasso

Share this post