New Egypt, NJ (July 24, 2016) – On Hammer Electric’s 90’s Night at New Egypt Speedway, Ryan Godown gained his second 358 Modified feature win of the season. Dakota Kessler was triumphant in the Crate Sportsman main event. The Street Stock feature went to Mick Search.

After the original start of the 30-lap 358 Modified feature was marred by a caution involving polesitter John Pakenham, Chris Grbac grabbed the opening lap lead with Bryan Kuhl and Ryan Krachun in tow. Kuhl took command of the race on the next tour. On the third circuit, a multi-car incident in turn two resulted in the display of the red flag as Dominick Buffalino’s car rolled slowly and landed upside down. When action resumed, Kuhl maintained his advantage with Krachun taking second place from Grbac. Behind the top three, Ryan Godown, who started in fourteenth, motored into fourth with five laps recorded. After Krachun took the lead from Kuhl on lap six, Kuhl regained the top running spot on the next revolution with Godown driving into third. One lap later, Godown blasted by Krachun to take the runner-up spot. At the halfway point, Kuhl was fending off Godown’s strong challenge for the lead. After a spirited duel, Godown scooted by Kuhl for the lead with thirteen laps remaining. On lap nineteen, Krachun powered by Kuhl to reassume the runner-up spot. With only nine laps to go, David Van Horn worked his way past Kuhl to take third. Following back to back caution flags on the twenty-first lap, Godown was still in control with Van Horn advancing past Krachun for second place. In the final laps, Godown would survive two more restarts following caution periods to remain on top and collect his second checkered flag of the year in the 358 Modified class. Van Horn completed the contest in second. Krachun’s stout race gave him a third place finish. Fourth went to Willie Osmun. Veteran Doug Ostwald finished in fifth. The 358 Modified heat races were claimed by Kuhl and Grbac.

Dakota Kessler grabbed his second career feature victory by topping his rivals in the 20-lap Crate Sportsman main event. Shaun Ratchford led the first four circuits. Kessler took the lead from Ratchford on the fifth circuit and outraced the field for the remaining distance. Rookie Kyle Kania’s strong run resulted in a second place finish. Sixteenth place starting Billy Osmun, III came home in third. Tom Tanner and Ratchford completed the top five. Adam Cox, Ratchford, and Dan Fleming won the Crate Sportsman qualifying events.

Mick Search pulled away from the field in the last half of the 20-lap Street Stock main event to win his second feature of the year. Billy Wroble set the pace for the opening three circuits before Jason Saredy hopped to the front. On lap six, Search drove past Saredy for the lead and would remain on top for the rest of the event. Joe Reid used a final tour pass over Dan Salmons to take the runner-up spot. With Salmons finishing third, John Meyer took fourth and Todd Dige came home in fifth.

Ladies Night, presented by National Parts Supply, is set for Saturday, July 30 at New Egypt Speedway. The race card will feature 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, TSRS Sprint Cars and Powder Puff races. All ladies in attendance will be receive half off admission to the grandstand. Plus, plenty of giveaways for the ladies will be doled out during the evening. Pit gates open at 4:00 p.m. and grandstand turnstiles unlock at 5:00 p.m. Warm-ups crank up at 6:00 p.m. and racing action starts at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and no charge for children 11 and under. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license, $35 with a TSRS license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from roast beef sandwiches to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices. For more information, visit online: www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/newegyptspeedwayofficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


358 Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Bryan Kuhl 2. Ryan Godown 3. Willie Osmun 4. David Van Horn 5. John Pakenham 6. Kevin Vaclavicek 7. Ryan Krachun 8. Mike Butler

Heat 2 – 1. Chris Grbac 2. John McClelland 3. Tad Cox 4. Clay Butler 5. Billy Pauch, Jr. 6. Danny Bouc 7. Andrew Bohn 8. Billy Pauch, Sr.


1. RYAN GODOWN 2. David Van Horn 3. Ryan Krachun 4. Willie Osmun 5. Doug Ostwald 6. Danny Bouc 7. Andrew Bohn 8. DJ Ruppert 9. Clay Butler 10. Kevin Vaclavicek 11. Billy Pauch, Sr. 12. Bryan Kuhl 13. PJ Oliver 14. Chris Grbac 15. Chad Barney 16. Billy Pauch, Jr. 17. John McClelland 18. Dominick Buffalino 19. Tad Cox 20. Lou Cicconi 21. John Pakenham 22. Mike Butler

Crate Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. Adam Cox 2. Brandon Grosso 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Connor King 5. Tom Tanner 6. Jeremy Martino

Heat 2 – 1. Shaun Ratchford 2. Frank Dorry, Jr. 3. Kyle Kania 4. Jason Bittner 5. Ebby Ridge 6. Chuckles Stone

Heat 3 – 1. Dan Fleming 2. Billy Osmun, III 3. Dakota Kessler 4. Jordan Cox 5. John Aumick 6. Aaron Weaver


1. DAKOTA KESSLER 2. Kyle Kania 3. Billy Osmun, III 4. Tom Tanner 5. Shaun Ratchford 6. Ryan Simmons 7. John Aumick 8. Connor King 9. Jeremy Martino 10. Jordan Cox 11. Brandon Grosso 12. Dan Fleming 13. Adam Cox 14. Chuckles Stone 15. Aaron Weaver 16. John Criscione 17. Alonzo Morales 18. Matt Knaub 19. Jason Bittner 20. George Gareis, Jr. 21. Ebby Ridge 22. Frank Dorry, Jr. 23. Johnny Bangs 24. Jason Dunn


1. MICK SEARCH 2. Joe Reid 3. Dan Salmons 4. John Meyer 5. Todd Dige 6. Spider Ensinger, Sr. 7. Kim Cooke 8. Bill Connelly 9. Jason Saredy 10. Billy Wroble 11. Bill Liedtka 12. Vern McLaughlin 13. Darren Cox

Share this post