New Egypt, NJ (June 12, 2016) – On Scout Night at New Egypt Speedway, Lee Nardelli nabbed the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprint Car feature. The Sportsman feature was won by Bob Lineman, Jr. Samantha Lieberman scored the win in the TSRS feature. The two Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie features were taken by Cale Ross and Alonzo Morales.

After the original start of the 20-lap Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprint Car feature was marred by a flip involving Wayne Weaver, the race got underway on the second attempt with Lee Nardelli bolting to the front. By the third circuit, Bobby Butler moved into the runner-up spot and began to challenge Nardelli for the lead. At the halfway mark, Nardelli was still in front as he was fending off Butler with Johnny Cornell, Lou Cicconi and Rich Mellor in a tussle for third. Butler made a strong challenge for the lead on lap seventeen just before the final caution period. On the ensuing restart, Nardelli and Butler raced side-by-side with Nardelli maintaining his advantage. Nardelli would stay on top of the pack to collect his first victory in the class. With Butler taking second, Cornell finished in third. Mellor wound up in fourth with Cicconi completing the race in fifth. Nardelli and Cicconi won the qualifying races for the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints.

After losing the lead to JT Trstensky on the fifteenth tour, Bob Lineman, Jr. would regain the front running position on the following lap and continued in front of the field for the remainder of the contest to win the 20-lap Sportsman feature. Derek Krum set the pace for the opening four circuits before Trstensky took over the top spot. The twelfth place starting Lineman, Jr. initially grabbed the lead from Trstensky on the sixth lap. Trstensky’s very competitive run resulted in a second place finish. Fifteenth place starting Art Leidi completed the event in third. Fourth place was taken by JR Fulper. Rookie driver Kyle Kania finished in fifth after starting the race in twenty-second. The Sportsman heat races went to JR Fulper, TJ Lilly and JT Trstensky. Lou Farina won the consolation contest.

Samantha Lieberman led all twenty circuits to claim her first TSRS Sprint Car feature. Lieberman started on the pole and deftly diced her way through lap traffic in the second half of the race to collect the win. The runner-up spot went to Kevin Nagy. Mike Haggenbottom crossed the finish line in third. Ryan Stillwagon came home in fourth with fifth going to Tim Tanner. John Barnett, Tim Tanner, and Joe Kay were victorious in the TSRS Sprint Cars heat races.

In the first Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie 8-lap feature, Cale Ross took the lead from Alonzo Morales at the midway point and barely outdueled Kyle Kania for the victory. With Kania finishing second, Morales was third. Johnny Bangs and Doug Twaits rounded out the top five.

Alonzo Morales led from start to finish to win the second Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie 8-lap feature. Kyle Kania followed Morales across the finish line to second. Johnny Bangs, Cale Ross and Doug Twaits completed the top five.

On Tuesday, June 14, the richest Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By VP event of the 2016 season takes place at New Egypt Speedway with the running of the Dirty Jersey 4. The three-division card is highlighted by the Big Block/Small Block Modifieds competing in a 40-lap feature with the victor going home with $10,000. The United Racing Club (URC) 360 Sprint Cars and Crate 602 Sportsman are on the docket as well. Pit gates open at 3:00 p.m. and the grandstand ticket office opens at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps are set to begin at 6:00 p.m. with the first qualifying event starting at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $30 for adults, $24 for seniors 65 and older, $24 for military personal and their spouses with ID, $12 for teens 12-15, and no charge for children 11 and under. Pit admission is $35. A rain date of Wednesday, June 15 is in place if needed.

Father’s Night takes place at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday, June 18. The first fifty dads through the grandstand turnstiles will receive a can koozy courtesy of Home Depot. Racing action on this night is highlighted by The May Modified Madness Series Slideways Six event for the 358 Modifieds. The Sportsman, Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints and Father’s races will be on the agenda as well. Pit gates unlock at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand turnstiles opening at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps get underway at 6:00 p.m. and racing starts at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and no charge for children 11 and under. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from roast beef sandwiches to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints

Heat 1 – 1. Lee Nardelli 2. Brody Adamsky 3. Johnny Cornell 4. Brian Spencer 5. Chris Moll 6. Pat Hires
Heat 2 – 1. Lou Cicconi 2. Bobby Butler 3. Rich Mellor 4. Wayne Weaver 5. Molly Chambers 6. Al Cheney


1. LEE NARDELLI 2. Bobby Butler 3. Johnny Cornell 4. Rich Mellor 5. Lou Cicconi 6. Molly Chambers 7. Brody Adamsky 8. Heidi Heddin 9. Brian Spencer 10. Al Cheney 11. Pat Hires 12. Chris Moll 13. Wayne Weaver


Heat 1 – 1. JR Fulper 2. Bob Lineman, Jr. 3. Ryan Simmons 4. Alan Bleacher 5. Chuck Potts 6. Marty Resnick
Heat 2 – 1. TJ Lilly 2. Pat Wall 3. Jimmy Amato 4. Art Liedl 5. Dakota Kessler 6. Mickey Kessler
Heat 3 – 1. JT Trstensky 2. Brandon Grosso 3. Derek Krum 4. Jesse Dill 5. Marty Saxton 6. Will Dupree
Consolation – 1. Lou Farina 2. Steve Desmelyk 3. Kyle Kania 4. Doug Twaits 5. Matt Knaub 6. Rob Anderton


1. BOB LINEMAN, JR. 2. JT Trstensky 3. Art Liedl 4. JR Fulper 5. Kyle Kania 6. Pat Wall 7. Lou Farina 8. Cale Ross 9. Will Dupree 10. Mickey Kessler 11. Jimmy Amato 12. Marty Saxton 13. Jesse Dill 14. Alonzo Morales 15. Doug Twaits 16. Alan Bleacher 17. Steve Desmlyk 18. Brandon Grosso 19. Marty Resnick 20. Dakota Kessler 21. Chuck Potts 22. Matt Knaub 23. Derek Krum 24. TJ Lilly 25. Ryan Simmons

DNQ: Bob Rambone, Joe Dill, Johnny Bangs
DNS: Rob Anderton

TSRS Sprint Cars

Heat 1 – 1. John Barnett 2. Kyle Purks 3. Logan Diehl 4. Kevin Nagy 5. Rick Stief 6. Jeff Geiges
Heat 2 – 1. Tim Tanner 2. Stef Palmai 3. Mike Haggenbottom 4. Samantha Lieberman 5. Chris Allen, Jr. 6. Dave Bonner
Heat 3 – 1. Joe Kay 2. Bob DeVault 3. Ryan Stillwagon 4. Joe Lord 5. Keith Anderson 6. Dave Graber


1. SAMANTHA LIEBERMAN 2. Kevin Nagy 3. Mike Haggenbottom 4. Ryan Stillwagon 5. Tim Tanner 6. Logan Diehl 7. Rick Stief 8. Kyle Purks 9. Jeff Geiges 10. Chris Allen, Jr. 11. Joe Lord 12. Bob DeVault 13. Brandon Poff 14. David Bonner 15. Gabe Fox 16. Keith Anderson 17. Joe Kay 18. Dave Graber 19. John Barnett 20. Stef Palmai


1. CALE ROSS 2. Kyle Kania 3. Alonzo Morales 4. Johnny Bangs 5. Doug Twaits 6. Matt Knaub


1. ALONZO MORALES 2. Kyle Kania 3. Johnny Bangs 4. Cale Ross 5. Doug Twaits 6. Matt Knaub

Share this post