New Egypt Speedway Race Results June 14, 2014

NEWS FROM NEW EGYPT SPEEDWAY Route 539, New Egypt, NJ Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director


Mike Hendershot Wins First Feature in 19 Years!

New Egypt, NJ (May 14, 2014) – Mike Hendershot of Hackettstown, NJ won his first feature ever at New Egypt Speedway Saturday night after 17 years of trying. Hendershot, who was one of the first Modified drivers that raced at NES during its’ inaugural season in 1998, drove to victory in the 20 lap Sportsman main event with a last lap pass of leader Mike Howardson.

“It has been a very long time, my last feature win was at Mok-a-Tec Speedway in 1995”, exclaimed a jubilant Hendershot in victory lane, “Mike (Howardson) drove a terrific race. He gave me nothing on the bottom and I decided that if I was going to pass him it was going to take an outside move, and the car stuck when I tried it.”

Howardson took command after the first couple of laps over John Scarpati. By lap 7 Hendershot moved past Scarpati into second, and began to put pressure on the leader. Howardson, who had not won a feature since 2009, hit all his marks not even cracking the door open for Hendershot to challenge. Finally on the final lap, Hendershot went just outside of the leader entering turn one, and using the middle groove completed the pass on the backstretch and drove on to the victory. Howardson held on for second, followed by Bob Lineman Jr., Brian Roemer and Bobby Butler.

The NERS 305 Sprint Car 20-lap feature was taken by Mike Haggenbottom. Haggenbottom swept around early race leader Justin Hoffman 5 laps into the event and was never headed as he cruised to his first win of the season, the fifth of his career at New Egypt. Hoffman held off all comers to cross the line second, but his car was light at the scale after the event disqualifying him. Phil Meisner ended up second in the end, chased across the line by point leader Tim Tanner Jr., Mark Bitner and 24th starter Jeff Geiges.

The Crate Modified 20 lapper was won by New Egypt’s winningest active Crate feature winner Brian Papiez of Belle Mead, NJ. For Papiez it was his 8th career victory, his first since 2012. Papiez withstood numerous restarts during the second half of the event and went on to pick up the win over 18th starter Mike Butler, who takes over the division point lead. Third went to Chuck Steuer, with Steve Hicks finishing and fourth and Bryan Kuhl was fifth.

Next Saturday, June 21st, it is Mechanics Night at New Egypt Speedway. All Mechanics are invited to race against each other in special Mechanics races at the end of the evening. 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, Street Stocks and the HCI/Spike-N-Go Rookie series will be in action. Gates will open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more information call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to, “Like” us on Facebook /NewEgyptSpeedwayOfficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



1st Heat: 1. Joe Lord 2. Neal Williams 3. Phil Meisner Jr. 4. Adam Carberry 5. David Brown Jr. 6. Karl Freyer
2nd Heat: 1. Rick Stief 2. Bobby DeVault 3. Justin Hoffman 4. Steph Palmai 5. Erica Palmai 6. Ian Borden
3rd Heat: 1. Mark Bitner 2. Mike Haggenbottom 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Chuck Palmucci 5. John Snook 6. Jon Brennfleck
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Mike Haggenbottom 2. Phil Meisner Jr. 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Mark Bitner 5. Jeff Geiges 6. Adam Carberry 7. Stephanie Palmai 8. Karl Freyer 9. David Brown Jr. 10. Erica Palmai 11. Keith Anderson
12. Ian Borden 13. Harris Kohen 14. Steve Voorhees 15. Jon Brennfleck 16. Rick Stief 17. Chuck Palmucci 18. Neal Williams 19. Bob Devault 20. Joe Lord 21. Tommy Carberry 22. John Snook 23. Bruce Roslin
DQ: Justin Hoffman

1st Heat: 1. Mike Butler 2. Brian Papiez 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Chuckles Stone 5. John Micek 6. Steve Hicks
2nd Heat: 1. Matt Carmen 2. Frank Dorry 3. Andrew Bohn 4. Paul Hartwig 5. JD Cranstoun 6. Chuck Steuer
3rd Heat: 1. Jordan Cox 2. Ebby Ridge 3. Clyde Cox 4. Scott Hyland 5. Eric Palmer 6. John Aumick
B-Main: 1. Ryan Simmons 2. Mike Carman 3. Jarrett Rozycki 4. Jeremy Martino 5. Pat Hires 6. Mike Everett
DNQ: Jason Bittner, Robbie Dunn, Jimmy Martin, Joe Reid, Adam Gordon, Kevin Dale, Dean Conk Jr., Justin Dunn, Aaron Weaver
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Brian Papiez 2. Mike Butler 3. Chuck Steuer 4. Steve Hicks 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Frank Dorry 7. Ebby Ridge 8. Eric Palmer 9. Matt Carmen 10. Jordan Cox
11. Chuckles Stone 12. Mike Carman 13. John Micek 14. Pat Hires 15. Ryan Simmons 16. JD Cranstoun 17. Scott Hyland 18. Andrew Bohn 19. Mike Everett 20. Paul Hartwig
21. Clyde Cox 22. Jarrett Rozycki 23. Derek Krum 24. Jeremy Martino 25. John Aumick
1st Heat: 1. Mike Hendershot 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. John Cornell III 4. Andy Visinski 5. J.T Trsensky 6. Alan Bleacher
2nd Heat: 1. Mike Howardson 2. Brian Roemer 3. Mike Lyons 4. Mike Butler 5. Marty Saxton 6. Jeff Marcucci
3rd Heat: 1. Scott Hyland 2. Bobby Butler 3. Jarrett Rozycki 4. Jesse Dill 5. Melissa Scarpati 6. Joe Dill
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mike Hendershot 2. Mike Howardson 3. Bob Lineman Jr. 4. Brian Roemer 5. Bobby Butler 6. Matt Carmen 7. Joe Systo 8. J.T Trsensky 9. Melissa Scarpati 10. John Cornell III 11. Dean Conk Jr.
12. Warren Floyd 13. Tom McCoy 14. Mike Lyons 15. Mike Butler 16. John Scarpati 17. Jimmy Amato 18. Joe Dill 19. Jeff Marcucci 20. Marty Saxton 21. Jarrett Rozycki 22. Jesse Dill 23. Joe Reid 24. Andy Visinsky
DQ: Alan Bleacher
Feature(10 Laps): 1. Derek Krum 2. Branden Clauss 3. Kevin Dale 4. Dean Conk Jr. 5. Mike Frank

Share this post