New Egypt Speedway Results August 23, 2014

NEWS FROM NEW EGYPT SPEEDWAY Route 539, New Egypt, NJ Track Phone: 609-758-1900 Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director


Blewett Shows his Metal at New Egypt Speedway

New Egypt, NJ (August 23, 2014) – Jimmy Blewett of Howell, NJ showed what he was made of Saturday night as he captured his first win of the season in the 30 lap Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway. Blewett roared to the front and then ran down Neal Williams, grabbing the lead with just five laps remaining to take his second career win.

PJ Oliver took the lead at the start of the 30 lap event and set the early pace over Tim Apgar and David Van Horn. Neal Williams soon got into the act as he raced into second position and began to challenge Oliver. On lap 10 Williams took over the top spot as Blewett bested Van Horn for the second position after a short battle. Williams led into lapped traffic as Blewett quickly closed the gap on the leader. The duo now hooked up in a hard fought battle thru lapped traffic while Ryan Godown and Billy Pauch put on a crowd pleasing duel for the fourth position. Godown finally wrestled the spot away from Pauch and then charged into third and began to run the leaders down. With five laps remaining Godown was with 3 car lengths of the top two, when Blewett made his move into the lead. Godown caught and passed Williams with two laps remaining and then gave a valiant try to catch the leader to no avail. Blewett took the checkered by 5 car lengths over Godown, with Williams a close third. Pauch came home fourth and David Van Horn rounded out the top five.

Mark Bitner of Trenton, PA won his first ever Sprint race at NES in the New Egypt RaceSavers 305 Sprint Car 20 lap feature. Bitner, who had last visited NES victory lane in a Modified 12 years ago, had the Nixon Racing #202 on a rail on this night as he led the event wire to wire defeating former winner Bobby Devault. Phil Meisner Jr. was third followed by Jeff Geiges and David Brown Jr.

The Sportsman 20 lap feature event was won by defending champ and point leader Bob Lineman Jr. Lineman drove around Mike Butler with 7 laps remaining and went on to claim his 3rd win of the season. Johnny Cornell came home second with Butler settling for third. JT Trstensky finished in fourth and Mike Hendershot was fifth.

Next Saturday, August 30th, it is Back to School Night at New Egypt Speedway. The first 50 kids in the gate Saturday will receive a backpack filled with school supplies. The 358 Modifieds, Crate Modifieds & Street Stocks will be in action on the speedway. Gates will open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm. For more information call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to, “Like” us on Facebook /NewEgyptSpeedwayOfficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.

NES RESULTS 08/23/14

1st Heat: 1. Ryan Godown 2. Tim Apgar 3. Neal Williams 4. Danny Bouc 5. DJ Ruppert 6. Sammy Piazza
2nd Heat: 1. David Van Horn 2. Kevin Vaclavicek 3.PJ Oliver 4. Jimmy Blewett 5. Billy Pauch Jr. 6. Tad Cox
3rd Heat: 1. Willie Osmun 2. Billy Pauch 3. John McClelland 4. Gary Butler 5. Andrew Bohn 6. Doug Ostwald
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Jimmy Blewett 2. Ryan Godown 3. Neal Williams 4. Billy Pauch 5. David Van Horn 6. Billy Pauch Jr. 7. Danny Bouc 8. Willie Osmun
9. Gary Butler 10. Tad Cox 11. Tim Buckwalter 12. PJ Oliver 13. Chris Grbac 14. Tim Apgar 15. Darren McCaughey 16. Kevin Vaclavicek
17. John McClelland 18. John Pakenham 19. Eric Engstrom 20. Doug Ostwald 21. Joe Dill 22. Andrew Bohn 23. Steve Davis 24. Tim Tanner
25. John Stangle
DNS: DJ Ruppert, Sammy Piazza

1st Heat: 1. John Cornell III 2. Will Dupree 3. Marty Saxton 4. Alan Bleacher 5. J.T Trsensky 6. Jimmy Martin
2nd Heat: 1. Bob Lineman Jr. 2. Mike Butler 3. Mike Howardson 4. Mike Hendershot 5. Kevin Dale 6. Patrick Gold
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Bob Lineman Jr. 2. John Cornell III 3. Mike Butler 4. J.T Trsensky 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Mike Howardson 7. Jason Dunn
8. Alan Bleacher 9. Marty Saxton 10. Will Dupree 11. Jimmy Martin 12. Chuck Potts 13. Patrick Gold 14. Jimmy Amato 15. Mike Mongello
16. Robbie Dunn 17. Kevin Dale 18. Duane Nixon 19. Ryan Simmons

1st Heat: 1. Brian Nixon 2. Tommy Carberry Jr. 3. Phil Meisner Jr. 4. Adam Carberry 5. Neal Williams 6. Tim Tanner
2nd Heat: 1. Rick Stief 2. David Brown Jr. 3. Mike Haggenbottom 4. Stefanie Palmai 5. Brad Franks 6. Erika Palmai
3rd Heat: 1. Bob DeVault 2. Jeff Geiges 3. John Snook 4. Rory Janney 5. Chuck Palmucci 6. Jon Brennfleck
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Mark Bitner 2. Bobby DeVault 3. Phil Meisner Jr. 4. Jeff Geiges 5. David Brown Jr. 6. Tommy Carberry Jr. 7. Rick Stief 8. Mike
Haggenbottom 9. Stefanie Palmai 10. Brad Franks 11. Jon Brennfleck 12. Erika Palmai 13. Brad Franks 14. Joe Lord 15. Keith Anderson 16. Harris Kohen
17. Chuck Palmucci 18. Adam Carberry 19. John Snook 20. Pat Friberger 21. Tim Tanner 22. Steve Voorhees
DQ: Rory Janney

Share this post