New Egypt Speedway Results May 31, 2014

NEWS FROM NEW EGYPT SPEEDWAY Route 539, New Egypt, NJ Track Phone: 609-758-1900
Contact: Pete Wortman, PR Director


Godown Pockets $3200+ in New Egypt’s May Modified Madness

New Egypt, NJ (May 31, 2014) – 2012 champion Ryan Godown of Ringoes, NJ not only won his fourth race of the season Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway, he was crowned the track’s first ever May Modified Madness Bracket champion.  Taking the lead on lap 21 when leader Billy Pauch broke, Godown won the 30 lap event, sealing the May Madness championship and picking up a total of over $3200 for his efforts courtesy of title sponsors Liberty Toyota Scion and Amwell Auto Body, along with many others. It was Godown’s 11th career Small-Block Modified victory, putting him in sole possession of first place on the all-time win list.

Following driver introductions that saw each driver walking thru the crowd high-fiving the fans on their way to their respective cars on the frontstretch, the race started with pole sitter Tim Apgar taking command over Neal Williams & John Stangle. After only a handful of laps, Neal Williams charged by Apgar into the lead and all eyes began to watch a torrid 3 car battle between Pauch, Godown and David Van Horn as they raced each other to the front of the field. Van Horn did a great job winning the race into the top five, however Pauch soon found his groove and charged into the lead on lap 10. Neal Williams could not keep pace with Pauch, but he was successful holding off Godown, Van Horn and 4 other cars as a terrific battle ensued for the runner-up spot. Pauch took advantage of this, as he opened up his lead on the field while Godown threw everything he had at Williams. Godown finally got the bite he was looking for and drove around Williams into second by a slim margin at the stripe to complete lap 21. As Williams looked to be returning the favor on the backstretch the caution flag waved for the leader Pauch, who coasted to a stop on the backstretch with a broken rear. This put Godown in front as the official leader, and when the green flag flew he pulled away from the field to lead the final laps and post the 32nd overall Modified win of his career at NES. The final lap saw Williams hold off a strong challenge from Willie Osmun to cross the line second. However Williams’ car was found to be light when scaled immediately after the event and he was DQ’d, giving Osmun the second place finish in both the race and the May Madness Challenge. “DVH” David Van Horn drove yet another great race to finish a strong third, while Billy Pauch Jr. rallied back from a first lap tangle to cross the line fourth driving the Rick Holsten #96. Tad Cox completed the top five, also coming back from an early race tangle, capturing third of the six drivers in the May Madness.

The NERS 305 Sprint Car 20 lap feature saw Kyle Reinhardt of Neptune City, NJ win for the first time in 2014 as he passed Stephanie Palmai with just two laps remaining. Reinhardt made the winning pass powering around the outside of Palmai coming off of turn four at the two-to-go signal, just before the Red lights appeared for Ryan Stillwagon, who had flipped down the pit entrance gate. Mike Haggenbottom took up the chase on the restart but had nothing for the leader as Reinhardt posted his 6th career 305 Sprint victory at the track…the most All-Time. Haggenbottom was a strong second followed by the point leader Tim Tanner, who came all the way from 18th starting spot. Palmai completed another strong run in fourth after leading for 17 laps, as she continues to get closer to that elusive first victory at NES. Previous winner Bobby Devault rounded out the top five.

Fan and driver favorite, Johnny Cornell III of Neshanic Station, NJ won his first ever career Sportsman feature event after more than 8 years of trying, taking top honors in the 20 lap main event. Cornell held off Mike Butler over the second half of the race to post the popular victory. Butler finished second followed by Bob Lineman Jr., Mike Lyons and Mike Howardson.

The HCI/SpikeNGo Rookie Sportsman Series 8 lap feature event was taken Kevin Dale for his second win in a row. Derek Krum finished second followed by Jason Clauss in third.

This Thursday, June 5th, It is the much anticipated return of the USAC Amsoil National Wingless Sprint Car tour. This event will be race #3 of the five event “Eastern Storm.”  Driver’s invading New Egypt to compete will include 2-time defending Eastern Storm champ and 2012 NES winner Bryan Clauson, 3-time USAC feature winner Dave Darland, current USAC Sprint point leader Brady Bacon, 2011 NES winner Hunter Schurenberg, USAC Rookie Jarett Andretti, Tracey Hines, Jon Stanbrough, Daron Clayton, Chase Stockon, Chris Windom and many others. The USAC Sprints will be joined on the race card by the 3rd appearance of the ARDC Midgets at New Egypt this season. Gates will open at 5pm, with racing getting underway at 7:30pm. Adult admission is $25, children 6-11 are $10, with kids 5 and under admitted free. Pit Admission will be $35.

Next Saturday, June 7, it is Scout Night at New Egypt Speedway. All scouts in uniform will receive free general admission. The 358 Modifieds will headline the show, joined by the Crate Modifieds and the Street Stocks. Gates will open at 4:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 6:00 pm.

For more information on all upcoming events, please call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to, “Like” us on Facebook /NewEgyptSpeedwayOfficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



1st Heat: 1. Gary Butler 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Tim Apgar 4. Ryan Godown 5. John Stangle 6. Willie Osmun
2nd Heat: 1. David Van Horn 2. Neal Williams 3. Billy Pauch 4. Jimmy Blewett 5. Tad Cox 6. DJ Ruppert
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Ryan Godown 2. Willie Osmun 3. David Van Horn 4. Billy Pauch Jr. 5. Tad Cox 6. Darren McCaughey 7. Gary Butler 8. Sammy Piazza 9. Tim Apgar 10. Kevin Vaclavicek 11. DJ Ruppert 12. Doug
Ostwald 13. Danny Bouc 14. Jimmy Blewett 15. Billy Pauch 16. Tommy Farrell 17. PJ Oliver 18. John Stangle
DQ: Neal Williams

1st Heat: 1. Mike Haggenbottom 2. Phil Meisner Jr. 3. Scott Frack 4. Eddie Wagner 5. Jeff Geiges 6. Harris Kohen
2nd Heat: 1. Stephanie Palmai 2. Bob DeVault 3. Justin Hoffman 4. Ryan Stillwagon 5. Tommy Carberry Jr. 6. Joe Lord
3rd Heat: 1. Kyle Reinhardt 2. Jimmy Carpenter 3. David Brown Jr. 4. Rick Stief 5. Neal Williams 6. Tim Tanner Jr.
B-Main: 1. Gabe Fox 2. Erica Palmai 3. Chuck Palmucci 4. Brian Nixon 5. John Snook 6. Brad Franks 7. Ian Borden
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Kyle Reinhardt 2. Mike Haggenbottom 3. Tim Tanner Jr. 4. Stephanie Palmai 5. Bob DeVault 6. Phil Meisner Jr. 7. David Brown Jr. 8. Eddie Wagner 9. Justin Hoffman 10. Rick Stief 11. Joe Lord
12. Tommy Carberry Jr. 13. Chuck Palmucci 14. Scott Frack 15. John Snook 16. Brian Nixon 17. Harris Kohen 18. Brad Franks 19. Ian Borden 20. Ryan Stillwaggon 21. Neal Williams 22. Jimmy Carpenter 23. Erica
Palmai 24. Jeff Geiges DNS: Gabe Fox
DNQ: Ken Hanley, Keith Anderson, Bruce Roslin, Bryant Davis, Karl Freyer

1st Heat: 1. Johnny Cornell 2. Mike Howardson 3. Brian Roemer 4. J.T. Trsensky 5. Bob Lineman Jr.
6. Marty Saxton
2nd Heat: 1. Mike Hendershot 2. Mike Butler 3. Mike Lyons 4. John Scarpati 5. Jeff Marcucci 6. Joe Reid
Feature: 1. Johnny Cornell 2. Mike Butler 3.Bob Lineman Jr. 4. Mike Lyons 5. Mike Howardson 6. Mike Hendershot 7. Jeff Marcucci 8. Brian Roemer 9. J.T Trsensky 10. Alan Bleacher 11. John Scarpati 12. Jimmy
Martin 13. Joe Reid 14. Tom Priciotta 15. Branden Clauss 16. Warren Floyd 17. Tom McCoy 18. Marty Saxton 19. Robin McTighe 20. Derek Krum 21. Will Dupree 22. Kevin Dale 23. Jimmy Amato

Feature: 1. Kevin Dale 2. Derek Krum 3. Jason Clauss

Share this post