New Egypt, NJ (April 24, 2016) – On Ugly Sweater Night, Billy Pauch, Sr. held off his son to take the 358 Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway. Billy Osmun won the Crate feature and Mark Bitner was the victor in the TSRS Sprint Car main event. The Lyons Constructions/Metal Fab Rookie races were won by Cale Ross and Kyle Kania.

Polesitter Mike Butler grabbed the lead at the start of the 30-lap 358 Modified feature with fourth place starting Billy Pauch, Sr. in tow. With six circuits completed, the top two of Butler and Pauch, Sr. were in close quarters with DJ Ruppert, Tad Cox and fourteenth place starting Ryan Godown next in line. After a trio of cautions and restarts on the ninth tour, Butler remained on top with Pauch, Sr., Ruppert, Godown and sixteenth place starting Billy Pauch, Jr giving chase. On lap 11, Pauch, Sr. used the inside groove and rocketed past Butler for the top running spot. At the halfway point, Pauch, Sr. was beginning to distance himself from the second place running Butler and his son who had moved into third place on lap 13. Pauch, Jr. began to close in on Butler and eventually gained the runner-up spot with nine revolutions remaining. With five laps to go, the elder Pauch began to encounter traffic which increased as the race entered the final circuits. As the white flag was displayed, the younger Pauch had driven to the bumper of his father but Pauch, Sr. held on as the checkered flag waved. The victory by Pauch, Sr. was his 125th Modified win at New Egypt Speedway. Pauch, Jr. claimed the runner-up spot. Butler’s strong run resulted in a third place finish. Godown fought back a final lap charge from eighteenth place starting Jimmy Horton to finish fourth. Mike Butler, PJ Oliver, and Ryan Godown won the 358 Modified heat races.

Billy Osmun survived a final circuit restart to win the 20-lap Crate feature. Jason Dunn led the opening four tours before Tom Tanner gained the point. With six laps to go, Osmun worked his way around Tanner for the lead and remained on top for the remaining distance. With Tanner taking second, Brandon Grosso came home in third. Fourth went to Connor King and Dunn completed the race in fifth. The Crate heat races went to Tom Tanner, Billy Osmun, and Brandon Grosso. Aaron Weaver took top honors in the consolation race.

In the 20-lap TSRS Sprint Car main event, Mark Bitner endured a final lap restart to gain the win. Although he led every tour, Bitner fought back several challenges in the entertaining contest from Adam Carberry and Kevin Nagy to collect his fifth career 305 Sprint Car victory at New Egypt Speedway. Nagy, who diced his way towards the front after starting the race in eleventh place, finished in the runner-up spot. Carberry and Jeff Geiges swapped third place on the last tour with Carberry taking the position. With Geiges finishing fourth, Tim Tanner, Jr. took fifth place. The victors in the TSRS Sprint Car qualifying events were Jeff Geiges, Adam Carberry, and Tim Tanner, Jr.

In the first 8-lap Lyons Constructions/Metal Fab Rookie race, fifth place starting Cale Ross took the lead from Doug Twaits on the second circuit and sped away from the field to take the checkered flag. The victory was Ross’s second of the season. Kyle Kania finished in second place. Johnny Bangs, Alonzo Morales, and Doug Twaits rounded out the top five.

The second 8-lap Lyons Constructions/Metal Fab Rookie race saw Kyle Kania enter the winner’s circle. Kania took the lead from Doug Twaits on lap 2 and held off John Bangs for the win. With Bangs taking second, Cale Ross took third. Alonzo Morales and Twaits completed the top five.

On Saturday, April 30, Baseball Night takes center stage with the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints, Sportsman, Crates, and Street Stocks on the docket. All little league players in uniform will be admitted at no charge. Fans wearing their favorite team’s apparel will receive a $2 discount off the grandstand admission. The pit gates unlock at 2:00 p.m. and the grandstand ticket office opens at 4:00 p.m. Hot laps begin at 5:00 p.m. and racing starts at 6:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and no charge for children 11 and under. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from roast beef sandwiches to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


358 Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. Mike Butler 2. Billy Pauch, Jr. 3. Lou Cicconi 4. John McClelland 5. Tad Cox 6. Jimmy Horton

Heat 2 – 1. PJ Oliver 2. Neal Williams 3. Billy Pauch, Sr. 4. Clay Butler 5. Ryan Krachun 6. Chris Grbac

Heat 3 – 1. Ryan Godown 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Willie Osmun 4. DJ Ruppert 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. John Pakenham


1. BILLY PAUCH, SR. 2. Billy Pauch, Jr. 3. Mike Butler 4. Ryan Godown 5. Jimmy Horton 6. DJ Rupert 7. Tad Cox 8. Clay Butler 9. Lou Cicconi 10. Ryan Krachun 11. Chad Barney 12. John McClelland 13. Willie Osmun 14. Chris Grbac 15. Andrew Bohn 16. Bryan Kuhl 17. Tommy Farrell 18. PJ Oliver 19. Patrick Gold 20. Brian Roemer 21. Dominick Buffalino 22. Neal Williams 23. John Pakenham 24. Doug Ostwald

DNQ: Danny Bouc


Heat 1 – 1. Tom Tanner 2. Jason Dunn 3. Adam Cox 4. Frank Dorry, Jr. 5 Chuckles Stone 6. Dan Fleming

Heat 2 – 1. Billy Osmun 2. Connor King 3. Ebby Ridge 4. Jeremy Martino 5. Mickey Kessler 6. Jason Bittner

Heat 3 – 1. Brandon Grosso 2. John Aumick 3. Steve Hicks 4. Ryan Simmons 5. Matt Stangle 6. Shawn Ratchford

Consolation – 1. Aaron Weaver 2. John Bangs 3. Joe Reid 4. Alonzo Morales 5. George Gareis, Jr. 6. Stan Hawk

Crates – 20 LAPS FEATURE

1. BILLY OSMUN 2. Tom Tanner 3. Brandon Grosso 4. Connor King 5. Jason Dunn 6. Chuckles Stone 7. Ryan Simmons 8. Frank Dorry, Jr. 9. Steve Hicks 10. Matt Stangle 11. Adam Cox 12. Dan Fleming 13. Jason Bittner 14. Mickey Kessler 15. Jeremy Martino 16. Joe Reid 17. Kyle Kania 18. Stan Hawk 19. John Aumick 20. Ebby Ridge 21. Alonzo Morales 22. George Gareis, Jr. 23. Shawn Ratchford 24. Aaron Weaver 25. John Bangs

DNQ: Lauren Emmons, John Criscione, Matt Knaub

TSRS Sprints

Heat 1 – 1. Jeff Geiges 2. Samantha Lieberman 3. Bobby Sandt, Jr. 4. Gabe Fox 5. Scott Frack 6. Brendon Poff
Heat 2 – 1. Adam Carberry 2. Mark Bitner 3. Bob DeVault 4. Kevin Nagy 5. Mike Haggenbottom 6. Eddie Wagner

Heat 3 – 1. Tim Tanner, Jr. 2. Joe Kay 3. Chris Allen, Jr. 4. Stef Palmai 5. Rick Stief 6. Austin Burke


1. MARK BITNER 2. Kevin Nagy 3. Adam Carberry 4. Jeff Geiges 5. Tim Tanner, Jr. 6. Bob DeVault 7. Chris Allen, Jr. 8. Samantha Lieberman 9. Rick Stief 10. Kyle Purks 11. Joe Kay 12. Bobby Sandt, Jr. 13. Stef Palmai 14. Mike Haggenbottom 15. Scott Frack 16. Brendon Poff 17. Tyler Reinhardt 18. Austin Burke 19. Gabe Fox 20. Eddie Wagner 21. David Bonner 22. Karl Freyer 23. Jason Rochelle


1. CALE ROSS 2. Kyle Kania 3. John Bangs 4. Alonzo Morales 5. Doug Twaits 6. Guy Haupt 7. Matt Knaub


1. KYLE KANIA 2. John Bangs 3. Cale Ross 4. Alonzo Morales 5. Doug Twaits 6. Guy Haupt

DNS: Matt Knaub

Share this post