Ryan Godown Starts His NES Title Defense with Opening Night Victory


New Egypt, NJ (April 4, 2015) – Defending champion Ryan Godown of Ringoes, NJ started his title defense off on the right foot Saturday by winning the 30 lap opening night Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway. Godown worked his way up from his 7th starting position to take the lead from early leader Johnny Guarino 1 lap before the halfway mark and was never headed. For Godown it was his 34th career win at New Egypt.

Guarino and Brad Trice brought the field to the first green flag of the season, with Guarino taking command in his return. Guarino paced the field as Trice, Gary Butler and Willie Osmun traded positions behind him as racing was stopped for a wild flip by Tommy Farrell in turn one. Farrell was uninjured in the crash but his car sustained heavy damage. The restart saw Osmun take over 2nd spot and chase after the leader. Ten laps in Godown was making his presence known as he battled with Osmun before taking over second. Godown had obviously found something that was working as he quickly chased down Gaurino, making quick work of him and took charge of the field. The second half of the event saw Godown pull away with ease as the focus was now on a spirited battle for second between father and son, Billy Pauch Sr. & Jr. The elder statesman of the family had the upper hand on this night as he held off Junior over the final five laps to claim the runnerup spot. Pauch Jr. was third followed by a consistent Osmun in fourth, while 17th starting Sammy Piazza stayed out of trouble finished a determined run with a fine fifth place finish.

In the 20 lap Crate Modified feature event, Brian Papiez of Belle Mead, NJ moved into sole possession of second place on the Crate all-time win list as he captured the tenth win of his career. Papiez passed early leader and two-time champion Eric Palmer and then outran Bobby Butler for the victory. Butler looked strong in his return to racing coming home second, with Jordan Cox, new-comer Connor King and Palmer rounding out the top five.

Vern McLaughlin took top honors in their 15 lap Street Stock main event for his first win since 2012. Defending champion Billy Liedtka was second, followed by Gary Klimeczak, Todd Dige and Scott Dugan.

The HCI/MetalFab Rookie Series 8 cars sign into the pits on opening night. Tom Tanner crossed the finish line first, but was disqualified for a technical infraction found during post-race inspection. This saw second generation driver Matt Stangle pick up the opening night win, over Shawn Ratchford and third generation racer Billy Osmun.

Next Saturday, April 11, it will be Hockey Night at New Egypt Speedway with each fan wearing their favorite Hockey team’s apparel will receive $2 off of their general admission ticket. On the track a full card of 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, NERS 305 Sprint Cars and the HCI/MetalFab Rookie series will be in competition. There will also be a Slap Shot contest at intermission. Gates open at 3:00 p.m. with the first race starting at 5:00 pm.  For more information call the speedway office at (609) 758-1900 or log on to www.newegyptspeedway.net, “Like” us on Facebook /NewEgyptSpeedwayOfficial, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



1st Heat: 1. Billy Pauch 2. John Stangle 3. Tommy Farrell 4. David Van Horn 5. Johnny Guarino 6. Rocco Infante
2nd Heat: 1. Billy Pauch Jr. 2. Sammy Piazza 3. Jimmy Horton 4. John McClelland 5. Willie Osmun 6. Andrew Krause
3rd Heat: 1. Ryan Godown 2. Neal Williams 3. Gary Butler 4. Brad Trice 5. Danny Bouc 6. Andrew Bohn
B-Main: 1. Tad Cox 2. Jimmy Blewett 3. Chris Grbac 4. Chris Esposito 5. Chuck Steuer 6. Mike Butler
Feature (30 Laps): 1. Ryan Godown 2. Billy Pauch 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4. Willie Osmun 5. Sammy Piazza 6. David Van Horn 7. Jimmy Blewett 8. Chris Esposito 9. Brad Trice 10. John McClelland 11. Mike Butler
12. Jimmy Horton 13. Tad Cox 14. Neal Williams 15. Rocco Infante 16. Johnny Guarino 17. Chuck Steuer 18. Gary Butler 19. John Stangle 20. Andrew Krause 21. Chris Grbac 22. Danny Bouc 23. Tommy Farrell
24. Andrew Bohn
DNQ: DJ Ruppert, Patrick Gold, Richie Pratt, Jimmy Martin, Chad Barney, Shawn Ward, PJ Oliver.

1st Heat: 1. Brian Papiez 2. Bobby Butler 3. Jordan Cox 4. Ryan Simmons 5. Tom Princiotta 6. Aaron Weaver
2nd Heat: 1. Steve Hicks 2. Jarrett Rozycki 3. Chuckles Stone 4. Branden Clauss 5. Frank Dorry 6. Ebby Ridge
3rd Heat: 1. Brandon Grosso 2. Adam Gordon 3. Eric Palmer 4. Mike Carman 5. Connor King 6. Scott Hyland
B-Main: 1. Jason Bittner 2. Billy Osmun 3. Jeremy Martino 4. Matt Carmen 5. Adam Cox 6. Joe Reid
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Brian Papiez 2. Bobby Butler 3. Jordan Cox 4. Connor King 5. Eric Palmer 6. Frank Dorry 7. Jeremy Martino 8. Jarrett Rozycki 9. Ryan Simmons 10. Mike Carman 11. Billy Osmun 12. Joe Reid
13. Tom Princiotta 14. Aaron Weaver 15. Chuckles Stone 16. Jason Bittner 17. Ebby Ridge 18. Adam Cox 19. Brandon Grosso 20. Branden Clauss 21. Steve Hicks 22. Scott Hyland 23. Matt Carmen 24. Matt Stangle
25. Adam Gordon
DNQ: Lauren Emmons, Joe Nappi, Dan Fleming, Steve Davis, Tom Tanner, Justin Dunn.

1st Heat: 1. Bill Liedtka 2. Vern McLaughlin 3. Todd Dige 4. Gary Klimeczak 5. John Carpenter 6. Bill Connolly
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Vern McLaughlin 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Gary Klimeczak 4. Todd Dige 5. Scott Dugan 6. Billy Wroble 7. Joe Reid 8. Bill Connolly 9. John Carpenter 10. Jason Saredy
DNS: Everett Taylor

Feature(10 Laps): 1. Matt Stangle 2. Shawn Ratchford 3. Billy Osmun 4. Dan Fleming 5. Marty Resnick
DQ: Tim Tanner

Share this post