New Egypt, NJ (June 19, 2016) – On Father’s Night, David Van Horn was the victor in the 358 Modified feature at New Egypt Speedway. Ryan Simmons scored his first career checkered flag by winning the Sportsman main event. The Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprint feature went to Bobby Butler.

The 30-lap 358 Modified feature got underway with PJ Oliver taking the lead and Brian Roemer next in line. The top two of Oliver and Roemer were still intact when the first caution of the contest took place on the fourth circuit as Billy Pauch, Jr. slowed with a left rear flat tire. Following two more quick and final appearances of the yellow flag, Oliver was still in command with six laps completed with Dominick Buffalino in second, Roemer in third and David Van Horn in fourth. On the next tour of the clay oval, Van Horn motored past Roemer for third place. Methodically, Buffalino began to close in on Oliver and slipped past him for the top running position with ten laps recorded. One circuit later, Van Horn sent Oliver back another position as he assumed the runner-up spot. At the halfway point, Buffalino was on top with Van Horn beginning to narrow the gap. By lap eighteen, the top two of Buffalino and Van Horn were in a side by side duel for first with Billy Pauch, Sr. in third. Van Horn using the inside lane rushed past Buffalino for the lead with eleven revolutions remaining in the contest. Once in front, Van Horn began to pull away from the field as numerous positional battles were taking place behind him. As the checkered flag waved, Van Horn was in front of the pack for his first victory at New Egypt Speedway since July 6, 2013. Buffalino held off a late race surge from Pauch, Sr. to finish in second. John McClelland’s impressive run resulted in a fourth place finish. Pauch, Jr. came back from an early race flat tire to complete the race in fifth. The 358 Modified heat races were captured by Oliver, Van Horn and Pauch, Sr.

For the first time in his young racing career, Ryan Simmons visited the winner’s circle as he captured the 20-lap Sportsman feature. Simmons blasted to the front from his third place starting position as the race began. Simmons, who had twelve second place finishes, would stave off challenges on several restarts to set the pace throughout the race. Art Liedl followed Simmons across the finish line to take second. Brandon Grosso worked his way back from a first lap multi-car incident to take third. Fourth went to JT Trstensky with fifth going to Alan Bleacher. Steve Desmelyk, Trstensky, and Grosso were victors in the Sportsman qualifying races.

For the second time this season, Bobby Butler topped the field in the 20-lap Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprint feature. Lee Nardelli grabbed the lead at the start with Butler settling into second. Nardelli led the opening three circuits before Ryan Godown jumped from fourth place to first in one lap. On the fifth lap, Butler scooted by Nardelli to regain the runner-up position. At the midway point, Godown had a sizeable advantage over Butler. With six circuits remaining, Butler started to reel in Godown by using the outside racing lane with Lou Cicconi charging towards the front as well. Following a great duel with Godown, Butler assumed the top spot with four laps left. After taking over, Butler would lead the remainder of the way to gain the victory. Godown held off a strong challenge by Cicconi to take second. With Cicconi in third, Nardelli and Johnny Cornell completed the top five. Cicconi and Nardelli won the heat races in the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprint division.

On Saturday, June 25, Rookie Graduation Night will showcase the last race of the season for the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookies. Plus, the final event in the May Modified Madness Series for the 358 Modifieds is on tap. The Crate Sportsman and Street Stocks round out the program. Any fan with a 2016 diploma will receive free grandstand admission. Competitors can begin to enter the pits at 4:00 p.m. and the spectator gates unlock at 5:00 p.m. Warm-ups start at 6:00 p.m. and racing gets underway at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and no charge for children 11 and under. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 with no license.

The first Mud Hop at New Egypt Speedway since 2014 takes place on Sunday, June 26. Gates open at noon and the mud starts flying at 1:00 p.m. for the trucks and quads. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, $5 for kids between the ages of 6 and 12 and children under 6 are free.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from roast beef sandwiches to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.


358 Modifieds

Heat 1 – 1. PJ Oliver 2. Brian Roemer 3. Ryan Krachun 4. Andrew Bohn 5. Willie Osmun 6. Tad Cox

Heat 2 – 1. David Van Horn 2. Danny Bouc 3. Billy Pauch, Jr. 4. Mike Butler 5. Doug Ostwald 6. Chad Barney

Heat 3 – 1. Billy Pauch, Sr. 2. Ryan Godown 3. Dominick Buffalino 4. Bryan Kuhl 5. John McClelland 6. Clay Butler


1. DAVID VAN HORN 2. Dominick Buffalino 3. Billy Pauch, Sr. 4. John McClelland 5. Billy Pauch, Jr. 6. PJ Oliver 7. Clay Butler 8. Tad Cox 9. Lou Cicconi 10. Brian Roemer 11. Ryan Godown 12. Danny Bouc 13. Andrew Bohn 14. Bryan Kuhl 15. Tommy Farrell 16. Kevin Vaclavicek 17. Eric Engstrom 18. Mike Butler 19. Chad Barney 20. Ryan Krachun 21. Doug Ostwald 22. Willie Osmun 23. DJ Ruppert 24. Chris Grbac

DNQ: John Pakenham


Heat 1 – 1. Steve Desmelyk 2. Pat Wall 3. Bill Liedtka 4. Cale Ross 5. Alan Bleacher 6. Billy Osmun, III

Heat 2 – 1. JT Trstensky 2. JR Fulper 3. TJ Lilly 4. Jeremy Martino 5. Bob Lineman, Jr. 6. Art Liedl

Heat 3 – 1. Brandon Grosso 2. Ryan Simmons 3. Derek Krum 4. Jesse Dill 5. Dakota Kessler 6. Aaron Weaver


1. RYAN SIMMONS 2. Art Liedl 3. Brandon Grosso 4. JT Trstensky 5. Alan Bleacher 6. TJ Lilly 7. Lou Farina 8. Cale Ross 9. Billy Osmun, III 10. Steve Desmelyk 11. Marty Resnick 12. Joe Dill 13. Derek Krum 14. Bob Lineman, Jr. 15. Joe Nappi 16. Andy Visinski 17. Jimmy Amato 18. Aaron Weaver 19. Rob Anderton 20. Jesse Dill 21. Dakota Kessler 22. JR Fulper 23. Pat Wall 24. Billy Liedtka 25. Jeremy Martino

DNQ: Tom McCoy

Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints

Heat 1 – 1. Lou Cicconi 2. Brian Spencer 3. Bobby Butler 4. Rich Mellor 5. Chris Moll 6. Heidi Heddin

Heat 2 – 1. Lee Nardelli 2. Ryan Godown 3. Johnny Cornell 4. Brody Adamsky 5. Al Cheney 6. Molly Chambers


1. BOBBY BUTLER 2. Ryan Godown 3. Lou Cicconi 4. Lee Nardelli 5. Johnny Cornell 6. Brody Adamsky 7. Rich Mellor 8. Chris Moll 9. Heidi Heddin 10. Al Cheney 11. Brian Spencer

DNS: Molly Chambers

Share this post