Youth Prevails On Legends Night As 16-Year-Old Ryan Krachun Wins His Second Modified Feature of the Year

430Youth Prevails On Legends Night As 16-Year-Old Ryan Krachun Wins His Second Modified Feature of the Year

New Egypt, NJ–         On a night where the legends of dirt track racing were being honored at an intermission autograph session, it was 16 years young Ryan Krachun who stole the show by winning the 358 Modified feature, his second victory on the season.  Krachun held off a hard charging Billy Pauch, Jr. at the line to score the victory.

            Mike Butler and Krachun led the field to the green flag with Butler quickly jumping to the top spot. The first caution of the night waved for Neal Williams who spun in turn four and collected John Pakenham. On the restart Butler again jumped to the lead with Krachun giving chase as the caution would wave again for a spinning point leader Ryan Godown who collected Sammy Piazza. Butler would again jump out in front of Krachun who quietly began his pursuit of the leader. On lap 16 using the inside of turn four Krachun passed Butler to take the lead.  The red flag would wave for Godown as his brake rotor caught fire along the back stretch and came to a stop in turn four. The fire was quickly extinguished and Godown was able to continue. On the impending restart Krachun again jumped to the lead and it was a hard charging Billy Pauch, Jr. who made quick work of third place Jimmy Horton and second place Butler to take over the second position. While Pauch, Jr. began his pursuit of the lead, it was his father Billy Pauch, Sr. and Horton who put on a show for several laps battling back and forth for the third position. On the final lap, Pauch, Jr. had made his way to the middle of Krachun’s side panel challenging the young gun for the lead. In the end it was Krachun by a nose at the line over Pauch, Jr., Pauch, Sr., Horton, and Godown who fought back for a solid fifth place finish.

            Johnny Cornell of Neshanic Station, NJ was the victor of the first of two Sportsman features. Cornell led all 15 laps of the feature event that he dedicated to his late father who passed away earlier in the season.  Young Brandon Grosso finished runner-up followed by JT Trstensky, Clay Butler, and Mike Lyons. Clay Butler, the third place finisher in feature number one, scored the victory in the second Sportsman feature event. Butler passed leader Will Dupree, who had led every lap of the event thus far, on lap 13 to take the victory. Finishing second was JT Trstensky followed by Johnny Cornell, Brandon Grosso, and Mike Hendershot.

            Mark Bitner of Trenton, NJ scored the victory in the NERS Sprint feature. Bitner started outside pole to Hamilton, NJ’s Joe Lord and quickly took the lead on lap two and never looked back. Bitner scored the victory over Mike Hagganbottom, Joe Lord, Bob DeVault, and Rick Stief. NASCAR driver Matthew DiBenedetto competed in the NERS Sprint division finishing 10th in his heat but was unable to start the feature due to engine problems.

            Next Saturday, August 8th, is Beach Party night. Racing will be the 358 Modifieds, Crate Modifieds, Street Stocks, and NEWS Sprints. The first 100 children through the front gates will receive a free beach ball courtesy of Physical Therapy Associates of Mercer County. There will be boardwalk games and $1 food specials set up in the picnic area from 5 pm to 6 pm. Pit gates open at 4 pm, front gates open at 5 pm, hot laps begin at 6:15 pm, and racing starts at 7 pm. Adults are $20, seniors 65 and older are $18, teens 12-15 and military and their spouses with ID are $10, and children 11 and under are free.

NES RESULTS 08/01/15


1st Heat: 1. Mike Butler 2. Sammy Piazza 3. Chris Grbac 4. Patrick Gold 5. Ryan Godown 6. Billy Pauch

2nd Heat: 1. Ryan Krachun 2. Chad Barney 3. John McClelland 4. Billy Pauch Jr 5. Neal Williams 6. Doug Ostwald

Feature (30 Laps): 1. Ryan Krachun 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Billy Pauch 4. Mike Butler

5. Jimmy Horton 6. Ryan Godown 7. Chris Grbac 8. Sammy Piazza 9. David Van Horn

10. John McClelland 11. PJ Oliver 12. Chad Barney 13. Doug Ostwald 14. Patrick Gold

15. Chris Esposito 16. Danny Bouc 17. Neal Williams 18. John Packenham 19. Rick Holsten


1st Heat: 1. Rick Stief 2. Mike Hagganbottom 3. Mark Bitner 4. Joe Lord 5. Bob DeVault 6. Jeff Geiges

Feature (15 Laps): 1. Mark Bitner 2. Mike Hagganbottom 3. Joe Lord 4. Bob DeVault

 5. Rick Stief 6. Jeff Geiges 7. Keith Anderson 8. Gabe Fox 9. Harris Kohen

DNS: Matt DiBennidetto


1st Feature (15 Laps): 1. Johnny Cornell III 2. Brandon Grosso 3. J.T Trstensky 4. Clay Butler 5. Mike Lyons 6. Will Dupree 7. Mike Hendershot 8. Bobby Butler 9. Steve Davis 10. Matt Stangle 11. Jimmy Amato 12. Mike Mongiello 13. Dakota Kessler 14. Marty Resnick 15. Bob Lineman Jr. 16. Brian Papiez 17. Jason Dunn 18. Ryan Simmons 19. Tom Princiotta

2nd Feature (15 Laps): 1. Clay Butler 2. J.T Trstensky 3. Johnny Cornell III 4. Brandon Grosso 5. Mike Hendershot 6. Steve Davis 7. Bob Lineman Jr. 8. Bobby Butler 9. Matt Stangle 10. Dakota Kessler 11. Will Dupree 12. Mike Mongiello 13. Marty Resnick 14. Jimmy Amato 15. Ryan Simmons 16. Mike Lyons

DNS: Jason Dunn, Jeremy Martino, Tom Princiotta

Share this post