The selected editor codemirror is not enabled. Defaulting back to codemirror.

It’s a Grosso Sweep Saturday at New Egypt Speedway 

(August 7, 2021):  The Grosso brothers took center stage Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway as Brandon won for the third time this season in a special 40 lap Modified event and younger brother Justin destroyed the field in the 20 lap Sportsman feature for his 4th win in a row. This marks the first time this year that the brothers have won a feature on the same night at the track.     

 233041198 2027531180732031 7847780716437770046 n

26 cars took the green flag in the Vahlco Wheels Modified 40 lapper with PJ Oliver grabbing the lead over Chris Grbac.  Oliver was looking dominant in the early going as he opened up a sizable lead until two consecutive cautions flew on lap 6 & 8 to slow the action.   Oliver continued to lead when racing resumed as Rick Laubach took over the runner-up spot. Laubach quickly had his hands full as Oliver drove away from the field again, with 11th starter Grosso already challenging for second. Grosso quickly moved into second, bringing 2018 track champ David Van Horn with him, and took up the chase after Oliver who was more than a half straightaway in front. Grosso took only 5 laps to catch the leader and on lap 17 made what proved to be the winning pass.  As Grosso assumed command, last week’s winner Billy Pauch Jr. and point leader Mike Gular were hot on his heels and also passed Oliver.  This duo traded second spot back and forth a couple times as Grosso proved too strong, even thru two more restarts.  Grosso cruised to his third win of the season ahead of Pauch Jr. and Gular, with Van Horn coming home fourth. Some confusion occurred on the final lap when chief starter Terry Branson was hit by an object causing him to prematurely throw the checkered flag. He quickly realized his mistake and switched back to the white flag, however not before fifth place runner Dominic Buffalino, who had been battling to hold off a fast Louden Reimert, had seen it. This resulted in fifth place switching on the final circuit. Track officials, upon reviewing what had happened, decided that both drivers would be credited with finishing fifth in the final rundown, and would both receive fifth place money and points for the event.  Thankfully flagger Branson was uninjured. Mike Gular remains the point leader by just 2 points over Billy Pauch Jr.

Justin Grosso dominated the 20 lap Sportsman feature event, taking the lead from Amanda Buchel on lap 3 and running away from the field.  The only time the rest of the field got a look at the leader was a lap 11 restart that closed the field up, but he then went on to win by almost half a lap over runner-up finisher Tom Princiotta. Amanda Buchel drove a steady race to finish third over her brother Adam, who was this year’s Rookie champ. Will Dupree crossed the line fifth.

The Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s NorthEast Wingless Sprints (NEWS) saw Shea Wills win for the first time in his young career. Wills took control from Al Cheney on the first lap then had to hold off the top two drivers in the point standings as 2x champ Rich Mellor finished second and Mick D’Agastino third. Duane Nixon and Brian Spencer completed the top five.        

 The John Blewett, Inc. 4-cylinder 15 lap feature was another family affair as Scott Dunn beat his son Justin Dunn by inches at the finish line. Justin dove under his dad in turn three on the final lap, only to watch Scott turn it back under him in turn 4 and beat him to the line.  Dominic Antonelli led until two to go when the Dunn’s raced by him 3-wide, and he settled for third.   

 Rob Ormsbee once again won the 15 lap Street Stock feature, over Brian Ludwig & Bill Liedtka.  

 This Saturday night August 14th it is once again Jeep Night at New Egypt Speedway. The Vahlco Wheels Modifieds will headline the show, and will be joined by the Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s NEWS wingless Sprint cars, the Crate Modifieds, the John Blewett Inc. 4-Cylinders, & the Street Stocks. Gates will open at 5pm, with warm-ups at 6pm and the first race taking the green at 7pm.  

 New Egypt Speedway Results 8/7/21 

 Vahlco Wheels Modified Feature  (40 Laps): 1. BRANDON GROSSO 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Mike Gular 4. David Van Horn 5. Louden Reimert & Dominic Buffalino 7. Matt Stangle 8. Cale Ross 9. Mike Butler 10. Rick Laubach 11. Dakota Kessler 12. John McClelland 13. Blaine Bracelin 14. PJ Oliver 15. Bryan Kuhl 16. David Burns 17. Kory Fleming 18. Jack Swain 19. Kevin Vaclavicek 20. John Aumick 21. Chris Grbac 22. Frank Venezia 23. Jim Housworth 24. Dillon Steuer 25. DJ Hunt 26. Wade Hendrickson 

Heat Race Winners: PJ Oliver, Jim Housworth & Billy Pauch Jr

Consi Winner: Kory Fleming

 Sportsman Feature (20 Laps):

1.) JUSTIN GROSSO 2.) Tom Princiotta 3.) Amanda Buchel 4.) Adam Buchel 5.) Will Dupree 6.) Ryan Simmons 7.) Dan Fleming 8.) Ricky Moran 9.) Jim Avery 10.) Ryan Heim

Heat Race Winner: Justin Grosso

 Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars Feature (20 Laps):

1.) SHEA WILLS 2.) Rich Mellor 3.) Mick D’Agostino 4.) Duane Nixon 5.) Brian Spencer 6.) Larry Drake 7.) Stan Ploski 8.) Al Cheney 9.) Heidi Hedin 10.) Gary Huston 11.) Eric Miller 12.) Walter Fletcher 13.) Rob Ward 14.) Brad Schaale  DNS: Ken Nealis

Heat Race Winners: Stan Ploski & Larry Drake

 Street Stock Feature Quick Results (15 Laps):

1.) ROB ORMSBEE 2.) Brian Ludwig 3.) Bill Liedtka 4.) Lee Allen 5.) Mike Baldwin 6.) Drew Brocklebank 7.) Dennis Seeley 8.) Joe Reid 9.) TJ Hewitt 10.) Todd Dige  DNS: Joe Wolfe

 John Blewett Inc. 4-Cylinder Feature Quick Results (15 Laps): 

1.) SCOTT DUNN 2.) Justin Dunn 3.) Dominick Antonelli 4.) Rich Page 5.) Joe Garey Jr 6.) Kyle Hurley 7.) Mike Fox 8.) Bob Johnson 9.) John Ciallella 10.) Joe Garey Sr 11.) Chris Gall

David Van Horn Breaks Thru at New Egypt Speedway
Grosso and Mancini Earn Their Winners Badge on New...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Saturday, 26 November 2022


No events



Racers Guide DirtTrackRacing

New Egypt Speedway Weather

vahlco aluminum racing wheels

Lias Tire

 Insinger performance

sunoco race fules

american racer cup

rock auto

american muscle

go parts

brad penn

3 wide picture vault