John McClelland Answers the Bell at NES, Wins Career First. Miike Gular is crowned 2021 Track Champion   

(September 11, 2021):  John McClelland of Martinsville, NJ has been racing a Modified at New Egypt Speedway for 13 years. He has come close on many occasions, has been a top five point driver several times, but had never visited victory lane in a Modified. That all changed Saturday night on First Responders night as the veteran racer broke thru in a big way, taking the lead on lap 8, then surviving a restart challenge from Mike Butler with 4 laps remaining to record his first Vahlco Wheels Modified triumph.  

 241914889 2056075637877585 2688134259581856338 n

Mike Gular of Boyertown, PA clinched the track championship in his first full season of racing at the central Jersey track by finishing 4th for the third straight week. Gular only won a single feature this season on April 17th, but that propelled him to finish in the top 3 in eight straight events resulting in the 2021 Modified championship.          

 Wade Hendrickson grabbed the lead at the start of the 30 lap event trailed by DJ Hunt and David Burns. Hendrickson immediately began to open up a comfortable lead as Dakota Kessler moved into third. McClelland, who started 6th, had entered the top five after the opening lap and immediately used the outside groove to march toward the front. “Johnny Mac” began picking off a position a lap and found himself second by lap 5 and closing quickly on the leader. On lap 8 he caught Hendrickson and after a “slider” in turn 4 he was the leader of lap 8. McClelland was hooked up and just drove away from the competition as Modified rookie DJ Hunt raced in second.  Mike Butler took over third at halfway and began pressuring Hunt when the caution came out with 20 laps in the books.  McClelland drove away on the restart as Butler charged by Hunt for second, bringing Rick Laubach and Mike Gular with him. Brandon Grosso also used this restart to charge forward and enter the top 5.  With just four laps remaining Frank Venezia slowed on the front straightaway with a broken RR suspension, setting up a final challenge for McClelland. When the green waved Mike Butler threw his car under the leader as they raced side by side for a lap. Butler looked to have completed the pass the following lap in turn 1, only to watch “Johnny Mac” drive back around him in turn 2 and drive away to his first ever Modified win. Laubach got by Butler to finish second with Butler settling for third. Mike Gular crossed the line fourth to clinch his first ever championship, and Brandon Grosso rounded out the top 5.   

Point leader Pat Wall won his sixth feature of the season in the 20-lap feature for the Racersguide Crate Modifieds. Early leader Anthony Tramontana settled for second, while Paul Mancini came home third.  Ryan Simmons and Justin Grosso both lost some ground in the points race as they came home fourth and fifth respectively.  

Justin Grosso continued to dominate the Open Sportsman division in the Marty Resnick owned #13R as he captured his fifth feature in a row, and in the process clinching the 2021 Sportsman track championship.  Will Dupree held off Grosso for several laps before being passed with 2 laps to go, settling for second. Anthony Tramontana, Rookie champ Adam Buchel and Ryan Simmons completed the top five.      

Last year’s co-champ Justin Dunn wrapped up the John Blewett Inc 4-Cylinder 2021 championship as he won his 8th feature of the year.  Tim Jones returned and had an excellent run finishing second followed by Joe Garey Sr, Mike Fox and Chris Gall.  

With one race remaining two championships remain undecided, the Crate Modifieds and the NEWS Sprints. Pat Wall leads the Crate points by 27 pts. over Ryan Simmons with Justin Grosso just 29 points behind. Wall needs to finish 12th or better this Saturday to clinch his first championship.  Rich Mellor is looking to capture his third straight NEWS title at NES, and will only need to finish 14th or better this Saturday to clinch.       

Championship night is this Saturday September 18th at New Egypt Speedway. The Crate Modifieds will headline the night with their championship still up in the air. The Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s NEWS Sprint cars will also be deciding their champion.  The Open Sportsman, John Blewett Inc. 4-Cylinders, & the Street Stocks all have seen their champions clinch, however many other top ten spots still need to be decided on this action packed night. Gates will open at 4pm, with warm-ups at 5pm and the first race taking the green at 6pm.  

New Egypt Speedway 9/11/21 - First Responders/Modified Championship Night

Vahlco Wheels Modified Feature Results (30 Laps):

1.) JOHN MCCLELLAND 2.) Rick Laubach 3.) Mike Butler 4.) Mike Gular 5.) Brandon Grosso 6.) Wade Hendrickson 7.) David Van Horn 8.) Cale Ross 9.) Bryan Kuhl 10.) Louden Reimert 11.) DJ Hunt 12.) Davey Sammons 13.) Dakota Kessler 14.) Blaine Bracelin 15.) David Burns 16.) Mickey Kessler 17.) Kory Fleming 18.) PJ Oliver 19.) Jim Bobbitt 20.) Frank Venezia 21.) John Aumick 22.) Dean Conk 23.) Jeff Kuhl 24.) Rich Page 25.) Jim Housworth 

Heat Race Winners: Dakota Kessler, Rick Laubach & Mike Gular

2021 Modified Champion: Mike Gular Crate Modified Feature Results (20 Laps):

1.) PAT WALL 2.) Anthony Tramontana 3.) Paul Mancini 4.) Ryan Simmons 5.) Justin Grosso 6.) Johnny Bangs 7.) Tom Princiotta 8.) Nick Van Wickle 9.) Kevin Borden 10.) Will Protinick 11.) Robby Dunn 12.) George Gareis Jr 13.) Matt Knaub 14.) Nick Stephan 15.) Doug Dubiel 16.) Dan Fleming 17.) Tommy Klimkowski 18.) Matt Dealaman 19.) Jon Meyer 20.) Tim Franks 

DNS: Matt Miller

Heat Race Winners: Kevin Borden & Johnny Bangs

Sportsman Feature Results (20 Laps):

1.) JUSTIN GROSSO 2.) Will Dupree 3.) Anthony Tramontana 4.) Adam Buchel 5.) Ryan Simmons 6.) Paul Mancini 7.) Tom Princiotta 8.) Erik Renninger 9.) Robby Dunn 10.) Jon Meyer 11.) Johnny Bangs 12.) Jim Avery 13.) Amanda Buchel 14.) Nick Stephan 15.) Ricky Moran 16.) Dan Fleming 17.) Doug Dubiel 

Heat Race Winners: Adam Buchel & Justin Grosso 

 John Blewett Inc. 4-Cylinder Feature Results (15 Laps): 

1.) JUSTIN DUNN 2.) Tim Jones 3.) Joe Garey Sr 4.) Mike Fox 5.) Chris Gall 6.) Joe Garey Jr 7.) John Ciallella 8.) Kyle Hurley 9.) Jim Tinnes 10.) Ed Ford 11.) Ricky Gergasko 12.) Rich Page 13.) Penny Horner 14.) Dominick Antonelli 15.) Jesse Platzer 16.) Scott Dunn

DNS: Bob Johnson

Heat Race Winners: Scott Dunn & Justin Dunn

All Star Cup Shootout 100: Modifieds (100 Laps), C...
Billy Pauch Jr. Gets Hard-Earned Victory at New Eg...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Saturday, 27 November 2021


04 Dec 2021 07:00AM
Racing/Automotive Swapmeet


Racers Guide DirtTrackRacing

New Egypt Speedway Weather

vahlco aluminum racing wheels

Lias Tire

 Insinger performance

sunoco race fules

american racer cup

rock auto

american muscle

go parts

brad penn

3 wide picture vault