New Egypt, NJ (May 26, 2019) – At New Egypt Speedway’s Fan Appreciation Night presented by Hammer Electric, Bill Liedtka sailed away from his rivals to win the NES vs. the World Street Stock Challenge. Steve Davis topped the field in the Hammer Sportsman feature. The Larry's Hot Rods & Harley's Northeast Wingless Sprint Car main event went to Rich Mellor. Joe Garey Sr. was victorious in the Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinder race while Zachary Merola took the checkered flag in the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman race.

As the 20-lap NES vs. the World Street Stock Challenge got underway, Bill Liedtka sped to the front with Jimmy Avery and Billy Wroble next in line. With five tours recorded, Liedtka had a comfortable advantage over Avery and Mick Search. As Liedtka was increasing his margin, Avery and Search were battling for second and Search became the winner of the duel on the eighth circuit. At the halfway mark, Liedtka’s lead was a full straightaway over Search. With five revolutions left, Liedtka was beginning to close in on the tail end of the field. As the two laps remaining signal was given to the drivers, Liedtka had cleared the traffic. In the final laps, Liedtka was able to complete the non-stop event in front of the pack for his second win of the year. The victory was Liedtka’s twenty-eighth in the division. Search finished in the runner-up spot with Avery taking third. Wroble was fourth and Brian Ludwig completed the race in fifth.

After taking the lead from Joseph Brown on lap eight, Steve Davis remained in control to win the 20-lap Hammer Sportsman feature. Polesitter Jason Kosch set the pace for the opening five tours before Joseph Brown became the new leader. Davis, who started the contest in ninth, passed Brown for first place on a restart following a lap seven caution. A strong run by tenth place starting David Burns netted him a second place finish. Third place was claimed by Bob Lineman Jr. Art Liedl and Jim Housworth rounded out the top five. The Hammer Sportsman heat races were captured by Jason Kosch and Art Liedl.

For the third consecutive time in the Larry's Hot Rods & Harley's Northeast Wingless Sprint Car division, Rich Mellor scored the checkered flag in the 20-lap main event. Mellor took command of the race from the early pacesetter Larry Drake on lap six and never relinquished the top running position. The victory was the fourth of the year for Mellor. Second place was snared by Heidi Hedin. Veteran racer Stan Ploski was third. Drake held on to finish in fourth. After a visit to the pits on lap eight, Jermain Godshall battled back to take fifth. Jermain Godshall and Stan Ploski won the Larry's Hot Rods & Harley's Northeast Wingless Sprint Car qualifying races.

In the 15-lap contest for the Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinders, Joe Garey Sr. inched by Robby Dunn just before the finish line to win his second feature of the season and eighth of his career. With Dunn taking second, Mike Fox was third. Joe Garey Jr. was fourth and Jimmy Avery was fifth.

Zachary Merola led from start to finish to claim the 8-lap Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman race. The win was the first of the year for Merola. Anthony Tramontana Jr., the current point leader, came home in second. Ryan Krushinski and DJ Hunt rounded out the finishing order.

On Saturday, June 1, the 3rd Annual Salute to Our Veterans 40 marches into New Egypt Speedway. The Vahlco Wheels Modifieds will be in action in an extra distance 40-lap main event, in honor of our armed forces, paying $3,000 to win and $300 to start. The Larry's Hot Rods & Harley's Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Crate Modifieds, Mike's Performance Center 4-Cylinders & Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman are on the docket as well. On this special night, all military personnel will be admitted to the main grandstand for free with proper identification. The pit gates swing open at 4:00 p.m. and the grandstand ticket window opens at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps start at 6:00 p.m. with the first green flag waving at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the grandstand is $22 for adults, $20 for seniors 65 and older, $12 for teens 12-15 and kids 11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and $40 without.

“New Jersey’s Premier Dirt Track Facility”, New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country.  New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house.  The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.



  1. 1. BILL LIEDTKA 2. Mick Search 3. Jimmy Avery 4. Billy Wroble 5. Brian Ludwig 6. Jerry Stanzione 7. Jeff Dirkes 

Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 - 1. Jason Kosch 2. Joseph Brown 3. John Criscione 4. Jim Housworth 5. JT Trstensky 6. David Burns 7. Bill Liedtka

Heat 2 - 1. Art Liedl 2. Bob Lineman Jr. 3. Steve Davis 4. Ryan Heim 5. Will Dupree 6. Will Trstensky 7. Howie Finch

HAMMER SPORTSMAN - 20 LAP FEATURE 1. STEVE DAVIS 2. David Burns 3. Bob Lineman Jr. 4. Art Liedl 5. Jim Housworth 6. Brad Roberts 7. John Criscione 8. Joseph Brown 9. JT Trstensky 10. Will Trstensky 11. Will Dupree 12. Ryan Simmons 13. Bill Liedtka 14. Howie Finch 15. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 16. Jon Meyer 17. Marty Resnick 18. Ryan Krushinski 19. Zachary Merola 20. Ryan Heim 21. Matt Miller 22. Jason Kosch 23. Kevin Borden 24. DJ Hunt  

Larry's Hot Rods & Harley's Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Jermain Godshall 2. Duane Nixon 3. Heidi Hedin 4. Jeff Schall            

Heat 2 - 1. Stan Ploski 2. Rich Mellor 3. Larry Drake 4. Brian Spencer

LARRY'S HOT RODS & HARLEY'S NORTHEAST WINGLESS SPRINT CARS - 20 LAP FEATURE 1. RICH MELLOR 2. Heidi Hedin 3. Stan Ploski 4. Larry Drake 5. Jermain Godshall 6. Duane Nixon 7. Jeff Schall 8. Al Cheney 9. Brad Schaale 10. Ken Nealls 11. Eric Degler 12. Brian Spencer 

DNS: Chace Leahy


  1. 1. JOE GAREY SR. 2. Robby Dunn 3. Mike Fox 4. Joe Garey Jr. 5. Jimmy Avery 6. Nicole Razzano 7. John Ciallella 8. Ryan Cummings 9. Luke Willever 10. Dom Antonelli 11. Ian Ashford 12. Scott Dunn 13. TJ Graves 14. Justin Dunn


  1. 1.  ZACHARY MEROLA 2. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 3. Ryan Krushinski 4. DJ Hunt



New Egypt Speedway

720 Route 539

New Egypt, NJ 08533

Track Phone: 609-758-1900




Contact: Mike Wisniewski – Wiz Motorsports Communications, 856-982-5137


Saturday, June 1, 2019 – 3rd Annual Salute to Our Veterans 40 - Vahlco Wheels Modifieds (40 Laps - $3,000 to win), Larry's Hot Rods & Harley's Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Crate Modifieds, Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinders and the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman

4:00 p.m. – Pit gates open

5:00 p.m. – Grandstand gates open

6:00 p.m. – Hot laps start

7:00 p.m. – Racing starts

Saturday, June 8, 2019 – Rat Rod Night - Vahlco Wheels Modifieds, Hammer Sportsman, Street Stocks, Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinders and the Lyons Construction/Metal Fab Rookie Sportsman

4:00 p.m. – Pit gates open

5:00 p.m. – Grandstand gates open

6:00 p.m. – Hot laps start

7:00 p.m. – Racing starts

3rd Annual Salute To Our Veterans 40 On Tap For Th...
Hammer Electric Fan Appreciation Night This Saturd...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Saturday, 27 November 2021


04 Dec 2021 07:00AM
Racing/Automotive Swapmeet


Racers Guide DirtTrackRacing

New Egypt Speedway Weather

vahlco aluminum racing wheels

Lias Tire

 Insinger performance

sunoco race fules

american racer cup

rock auto

american muscle

go parts

brad penn

3 wide picture vault