Billy Pauch Jr. Wins His Second of the Season at New Egypt Speedway

(May 18, 2019):  Billy Pauch Jr. of Milford, NJ captured his second Vahlco Wheels Modified feature event of the young season Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway. Pauch patiently chased David VanHorn for much of the race before squeezing underneath the leader with less than five laps remaining to post his 23rd career victory at the Central Jersey track.


“David gave me a little space and I filled it”, explained Pauch Jr. in victory lane, “We always race each other hard and it is a lot of fun to compete against him on a regular basis.

Dakota Kessler led the 22-car field on the first lap before a pair of cautions slowed the action. Heat winner JR Fulper then tried to take control on two more attempts at restarting the race as yellows plagued the opening laps. Fulper finally succeeded in recording a lap as the leader when a hard tangle just behind him eliminated several cars including 2 time winner Ryan Godown. The four-time Modified Champion had moved up to third from his ninth starting spot but was now done for the evening. The restart saw a hard-charging Ryan Krachun become the new leader with 11th starting David VanHorn now chasing him in second when another caution, the final one of the race, flew on lap 8. The restart saw VanHorn out drag Krachun into turn one and become the new race leader with Pauch charging by several cars into third. One lap later Pauch had moved into second and was hot on the heels of leader VanHorn. This duo quickly distanced themselves from third place runner Danny Bouc, as Pauch matched VanHorn turn for turn. Pauch stayed about 4 to 5 car lengths behind the leader until 8 laps to go when he started to close the gap. As the five to go sign was being given Pauch was right on VanHorn’s back bumper and as the two reached turn two Pauch saw his opening on the inside squeezing between VanHorn’s #323 and the inside guardrail to take the lead. VanHorn stayed right with Pauch over the remaining circuits but could not get alongside of the 2017 champion. Pauch Jr. took the win over VanHorn with Bouc, who had a left front flat for the final half of the race, barely holding off five cars for the third position. Last weeks winner Brian Papiez survived two tangles in the opening laps to storm back thru the field and come home in fourth position as Modified Rookie Cale Ross rounded out the top five.      

The Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars ran their 20 lap feature non-stop in just under 6 ½ minutes with point leader Rich Mellor taking home his third victory of the season. Mellor got the lead when leader Jermain Godshall bounced off a lapped car on lap 14 in turn 3. Godshall kept going and was able to run Mellor back down but could not muster a challenge over the final lap as he settled for second. Brian Spencer was third, followed across the line by early race leader Larry Drake and Al Cheney.  

The Crate Modified feature had a first time career winner as Ryan Godown Jr. won the 20 lap event on his first full night in regular Crate Modified competition. He had run all of the previous features this season qualifying with the 2019 Rookie class, but this week he moved himself up as his High School Baseball career will cause him to miss several more Rookie races in the next month. Godown Jr. drove away from young hotshoe Joe Toth on a lap 17 restart and posted the popular win. Toth, Jeremy Martino, Johnny Bangs and 3-time champ Eric Palmer completed the top five.    

The Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie feature saw DJ Hunt winning for the second straight week. Hunt held off point leader and three time winner Anthony Tramontana Jr. and Zach Merola to post the win.  

The Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinders were again won by Mike Fox, who wins for the second straight time in their 15 lap event. Justin Dunn took home second followed by defending champ Joe Garey Sr., Dom Antonelli, andJoe Garey Jr.   

This Thursday evening it is Dirty Jersey 6 at New Egypt Speedway as the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Modifieds invade for event #4 of the Velocita South Region championship tour.  The race will be 40 laps paying a cool $6,000 to the winner, $1,000 for tenth and $400 to take the green. The Capitol Renegade URC Sprint cars will be in action competing in the Turnpike 25 paying $2,000 to win & the STSS Crate 602 Sportsman will also compete in a 20 lap event paying $1,500 to the winner. Pit Gates will swing open at 3pm, with the grandstands opening up at 4pm. Hot Laps will be at 6pm and qualifying begins at 7pm.

Then next Sat. night May 25th it is Hammer Electric Fan Appreciation night at New Egypt Speedway as the Street Stocks will headline the show with the NES vs The World 30 lap event.  Joining them will be the Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprints, Hammer Sportsman, Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie Sportsman, Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinders & the Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club. Admission will be just $15 for Adults, and it will be the first $1 Dollar Hot Dog night of 2019.   Gates will open at 4pm, with the first race taking place at 6pm.

New Egypt Speedway Results

Jeep Night


Vahlco Wheels MODIFIEDS

Feature (30 laps):  1. Billy Pauch Jr. 2. David VanHorn 3. Danny Bouc 4. Brian Papiez 5. Cale Ross 6. Ryan Krachun 7. Davey Sammons 8. Wade Hendrickson 9. Brandon Grosso 10. Kevin Vaclavicek 11. Rich Rutski 12. JR Fulper 13. Mike Butler 14. TJ Lilly 15. Dakota Kessler 16. Pat Wall 17. Blaine Bracelin 18. PJ Oliver 19. John Packenham 20. Ryan Godown 21. Billy Osmun 22. Bryan Kuhl

Heat Winners:  Ryan Godown, JR Fulper, Cale Ross

Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s Northeast Wingless SPRINT CARS

Feature (25 laps):  1. Rich Mellor 2. Jermain Godshall 3. Brian Spencer 4. Larry Drake 5. Al Cheney 6. Stan Ploski 7. Heidi Hedin 8. Duane Nixon 9. John Brammell 10. Ken Nealls 11. Brad Schaale  

Heat Winners: Stan Ploski, Jermain Godshall


Feature (20 laps): 1. Ryan Godown Jr. 2. Joe Toth 3. Jeremy Martino 4. Johnny Bangs 5. Eric Palmer 6. Dan Fleming 7. Steve Hicks 8. Ryan Simmons 9. Aaron Weaver 10. Ryan Heim 11. Georghe Gareis 12. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 13. DJ Hunt 14. Ryan Krushinski 15. Vinnie Troia 16. Nick Van Wickle 17. Tom Princiotta 18. Andy Walko 19. Rob Mancini 20. Jim Van Wickle 21. Glenn McIntyre 22. Zachary Merola 23. Kevin Borden 24. Robbie Dunn 25. Bobby Holzwarth  

Heat Winners:  Rob Mancini, Bobby Holzwarth

Lyons Construction/MetalFab ROOKIE SPORTSMAN

Feature (8 laps):  1. DJ Hunt 2. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 3. Zach Merola 4. Ryan Krushinski 5. Vinny Troia 6. Nick Van Wickle 7. Jim Van Wickle

Mike’s Performance 4-CYLINDERS

Feature (15 laps):  1. Mike Fox 2. Justin Dunn 3. Joe Garey Sr. 4. Dom Antonelli 5. Joe Garey Jr. 6. Ian Ashford 7. TJ Graves 8. Jimmy Avery 9. John Ciallella 10. Ryan Cummings 11. Scott Dunn  

Three Events In Two Days On New Egypt Speedway Doc...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Saturday, 27 November 2021


04 Dec 2021 07:00AM
Racing/Automotive Swapmeet


Racers Guide DirtTrackRacing

New Egypt Speedway Weather

vahlco aluminum racing wheels

Lias Tire

 Insinger performance

sunoco race fules

american racer cup

rock auto

american muscle

go parts

brad penn

3 wide picture vault