Ryan Godown Wins “Salute to Our Veterans 40” at New Egypt Speedway

New Egypt, NJ (June 1, 2019):Four-time Modified champ Ryan Godown of Ringoes, NJ captured his third Vahlco Wheels Modified feature event of the season Saturday night at New Egypt Speedway in the annual tribute to the Military 40 lap event. Godown took the lead from Blaine Bracelin on lap 12 and powered away over the remaining 28 laps to record his 49th career NES victory.


“Tonight is about the folks in the Military, we just try to put a show on for the fans”, stated Godown in victory lane, “With an excellent track as fast as it was tonight, it is difficult to come thru the field as everyone is fast.”

Blaine Bracelin & John Pakenham brought the 25-car field to the start with Bracelin taking command after a short battle. JR Fulper was moving up quickly and made his presence known as 8th starting Godown and Ryan Krachun battled hard as they advanced thru the field. Godown was on a mission and he wrestled the lead away on lap 12 as Mike Butler surged into the top five. One lap later Bracelin’s great run ended as he retired from the event. Godown pulled away as an excellent battle for second began between Krachun, Butler, Fulper, & PJ Oliver. Krachun’s hopes to catch Godown ended as his motor expired and the restart saw Oliver take up the chase. Danny Bouc and Billy Pauch Jr. now appeared in the top five and joined into the torrid battle for second as Godown powered away again. The final caution appeared when Pauch Jr. developed a flat tire with 4 laps remaining, however no one had anything for the powerful Godown who cruised to the victory. PJ Oliver broke thru for his best finish of the season taking home a popular second. Mike Butler continued his solid season with another excellent performance finishing third, Danny Bouc rebounded from an early race pit stop to finish 4th and JR Fulper posted a top five by finishing fifth.

The Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars 20 lap event was captured by first time winner Larry Drake. Drake held off a persistent Jermain Godshall over most of the race for his first career win. Stan Ploski continues to show his legendary form since coming out of retirement as he crossed the line third.Point leader Rich Mellor and Duane Nixon rounded out the top five.

Johnny Bangs picked up his second career victory in the Crate Modified 20 lap feature event. Bangs battled with race long leader Bobby Holzwarth and a hard charging Joe Toth with these drivers going three wide for the lead several times on the final two circuits. Bangs was able to get under second year racer Holzwarth on the final turn for the win. Holzwarth crossed the line second posting his career best finish despite being denied his first ever victory. Toth settled for third after he ran the leaders down with three laps remaining, 2018 rookie champ Ryan Heim & 3-time Crate Modified champion Eric Palmer completed the top five at the finish.

The Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie feature saw a fifth different winner this season as Vinnie Troia took top honors for the first time. Troia held off a fast DJ Hunt and Nick Van Wickle for his first win.

The Mike’s Performance 4-Cylinders saw TJ Graves win for the second time this season. Graves took the lead from Dom Antonelli after the halfway mark of the 15 lap event and won for the first time since opening night. Point leader Mike Fox made a late race charge into second while Antonelli held on for third. Justin Dunn and Jim Avery finished fourth and fifth. 

Next week Sat. night June 8th it is Rat Rod night at New Egypt Speedway. All Rat Rod owners will receive ½ price general admission and there will be an on track Rat Rod parade at intermission. The Vahlco Wheels Modifieds will once again headline the event, and they will be joined on the track by the Hammer Sportsman, Mike’s Performance 4-cylinders, Street Stocks and the Lyons Construction/MetalFab Rookie Sportsman.Admission will be $20 for Adults (16+), Teens (12-15) & Military w/ID are $10, with Kids 11 & Under being FREE, pit gates will open at 4pm,grandstands at 5pm with warm-ups at 6pm and the first race taking place at 7pm.

New Egypt Speedway Results

Salute to Our Veterans


Vahlco Wheels MODIFIEDS

Feature (40 laps):1. Ryan Godown 2. PJ Oliver 3. Mike Butler 4. Danny Bouc 5. JR Fulper 6. Wade Hendrickson 7. Davey Sammons 8. Brian Papiez 9. Cale Ross 10. Rich Rutski 11. Billy Pauch Jr. 12. Brandon Grosso 13. John McClelland 14. Pat Wall 15. Kevin Vaclavicek 16. TJ Lilly 17. John Pakenham 18. Dakota Kessler 19. Eric Engstrom 20. Steve Young 21. Bryan Kuhl 22. Billy Osmun23. Ryan Krachun 24. David VanHorn 25. Blaine Bracelin

Heat Winners:Cale Ross, PJ Oliver, Ryan Godown

Larry’s Hot Rods and Harley’s Northeast Wingless SPRINT CARS

Feature (20 laps):1. Larry Drake 2. Jermain Godshall 3. Stan Ploski 4. Rich Mellor 5. Duane Nixon 6. Heidi Hedin 7. Jeff Schall 8. Al Cheney 9. Brad Schaale 10. Charlie Weslowski 11. Ken Nealls 12. Chace Leahy 13. John Brammell

Heat Winners: Duane Nixon, Larry Drake


Feature (20 laps): 1.Johnny Bangs 2. Bobby Holzwarth 3. Joe Toth 4. Ryan Heim 5. Eric Palmer 6. DJ Hunt 7. Ryan Simmons 8. Howie Finch 9. Vinnie Troia 10. Robbie Dunn 11. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 12. John Aumick 13. Andy Walko 14. Nick Van Wickle 15. Steve Hicks 16. Matt Miller 17. Jon Meyer 18. Ryan Krushinski 19. Jim Van Wickle 20. Tom Princiotta 21. Glenn McIntyre 22. Dan Fleming 23. Ryan Godown Jr. 24. Aaron Weaver 25. George Gareis Jr.  

DNQs  Kevin Borden, Jeremy Martino, Zachary Merola.  

Heat Winners:Johnny Bangs, Bobby Holzwarth

Lyons Construction/MetalFab ROOKIE SPORTSMAN

Feature (8 laps):1. Vinnie Troia 2. DJ Hunt 3. Nick Van Wickle 4. Anthony Tramontana Jr. 5. Zach Merola 6. Ryan Krushinski 7. Jim Van Wickle

Mike’s Performance 4-CYLINDERS

Feature (15 laps):1. TJ Graves 2. Mike Fox 3. Dom Antonelli 4. Justin Dunn 5. Jim Avery 6. Joe Garey Sr. 7. Joe Garey Jr. 8. Penny Horner 9. John Ciallella 10. Ryan Cummings 11. Scott Dunn 12. Ian Ashford

Rat Rod Night Heads To New Egypt Speedway This Com...
3rd Annual Salute To Our Veterans 40 On Tap For Th...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Saturday, 27 November 2021


04 Dec 2021 07:00AM
Racing/Automotive Swapmeet


Racers Guide DirtTrackRacing

New Egypt Speedway Weather

vahlco aluminum racing wheels

Lias Tire

 Insinger performance

sunoco race fules

american racer cup

rock auto

american muscle

go parts

brad penn

3 wide picture vault